index
archives
profile
rings
booklist
reviews
about
links
notes
email
View my guestbook
dland
RP Designs
Rachelskirts


free hit counter

Live At Peace With Everyone (January 24, 2008 - 1:43 a.m.)

Well, here I am at work again.

Can't seem to break that habit.

I've been listening to a lot of old music on Pandora, lately. The last two nights, I made a "The Guess Who" station and have been hearing them and the Beatles, Three Dog Night, Jimi, and lots of other stuff. One theme that seems to recur a lot in the music of that era is the ol' "let's love everybody" theme.

Sometimes I think they may have had something there. I was growing up in that era (born in 1958), so I remember a lot of it when it was happening. As an 11-year-old boy, I was eagerly watching Newsweek magazine to see pictures of naked people rolling in the mud at Woodstock. If I had been 10 years older, I might have been at Woodstock. There have been many times I think I was born in the wrong generation.

Anyway, three songs have caught my attention in the last two nights. One is by The Guess Who (hehe...I just accidently spelled "How"), called "Share the Land." Another is "Shangrila" by Three Dog Night. And then, tonight, it played "Out In the Country," by Three Dog Night, one of my favorite songs of theirs.

In "Share the Land," the chorus says:

Maybe I'll be there to shake your hand
Maybe I'll be there to share the land
That they'll be givin' away
When we all live together.

"Shangrila" speaks of everyone being helpful and kind on "the road to Shangrila..."

And finally, "Out In the Country,"

Before the breathin' air is gone
Before the sun is just a bright spot in the night-time
Out where the rivers like to run
I stand alone, and take back something worth remembering.

I've spent a large part of my adult life being a kind of negative person. Complaining a lot about this, that, and the other...letting my opinion, no matter how ignorant, be known. But there's something to be said for the "peace and love" movement. I realize there's no chance that everyone in the world will ever "get along." But there is one thing that has been haunting me lately, especially since the whole scene with my daughter and a company which shall remain nameless.

There is this verse in Romans 12. Verse 18. It says

If it is possible, as far as it depends on you, live at peace with everyone.

"Live at peace with everyone."

"As far as it depends on you..."

There's the catch. Sometimes, it doesn't depend on me. But if it does, my responsibility is to be at peace. This is the Lord's command to me.

I've got a lot of praying to do. Because I don't know how to fix this. I don't know how to not just spout off what I think about something. Either verbally or in print.

Maybe I need some time, "out where the rivers like to run..."

Oh, well. Got work to do.

TTFN, y'all!

1 comments so far

last ~ next

Missed anything?
The Beatles--Abbey Road/Alice Cooper--Killer - July 04, 2012
The Beatles Eponymous Album - June 26, 2012
Autism's False Prophets - February 12, 2011
Santana--Guitar God? - November 11, 2010
Tribute To the Red Sox - September 29, 2010