index
archives
profile
rings
booklist
reviews
about
links
notes
email
View my guestbook
dland
RP Designs
Rachelskirts


free hit counter

A One Act Play (2004-03-24 - 9:24 a.m.)

Rachel and I went to see a one act play at her school last night. (Hmm...did you notice that you say "a" before "one" even though it starts with a vowel??)

It was called "Bridegroom of Blowing Rock." I never found the rock. However, the Drama people did a great job. Especially the girls. But then, in high school drama, the girls usually do better than the guys. I wonder why. Rachel's friend Katie played the town drunk. She wound up with the preacher. Now there's some irony for you.

Then there was this guy. He never said a word. All he did was walk around playing the guitar between scenes. He was supposed to be playing Civil War songs. One time, I swear I heard "Free Bird." I asked him after the play, "Were you playing 'Free Bird?'" He kind of grinned sheepishly. "Yeah."

He claims he threw in the chords to Stairway to Heaven, too. I didn't catch that one. Shame on me. But then, I'm not used to hearing just chords for that song.

The play was sad. The blind girl gets bitten by a rattle snake and dies. The mean mom just gets meaner. I'm not at all sure what happened to the bridegroom.


I still need to post some of our vacation stuff. I'll get to it eventually.

0 comments so far

last ~ next

Missed anything?
The Beatles--Abbey Road/Alice Cooper--Killer - July 04, 2012
The Beatles Eponymous Album - June 26, 2012
Autism's False Prophets - February 12, 2011
Santana--Guitar God? - November 11, 2010
Tribute To the Red Sox - September 29, 2010