index
archives
profile
rings
booklist
reviews
about
links
notes
email
View my guestbook
dland
RP Designs
Rachelskirts


free hit counter

More on the Imagination (2003-02-12 - 4:10 p.m.)

I missed yesterday's journal because I had to stop to be a father. Some things are just more important than others. When my daughter needs me, for whatever reason, everything else really takes a back seat. I'm not saying that she is more important than my relationship with God. But my time with Him can suffer for a day when one of my children needs something.

I was reminded yesterday afternoon of a scripture verse in 2 Timothy. 1:7 in 2 Timothy says this: for God gave us a spirit not of fear but of power and love and self-control. This verse came to me in the middle of a struggle in which I was moaning about my lack of discipline. Actually I was in the shower. I get some of my best praying done in the shower. Some people sing in the shower...I pray. Anyway, the point is this...I DO have discipline. I have power. I have love. All from the Spirit of God, which is the gift mentioned in verse 6. Paul is reminding Timothy to "fan into flame" the Holy Spirit, which is the Spirit of power, and love and self-control. This is such a liberating verse. Well, on to Oswald Chambers...

Wow! I'm reading yesterday's reading first to get caught up. It concerns the imagination once again. Chambers writes a lot about the imagination. "Imagination is the greatest gift God has given us and it ought to be devoted entirely to Him. If you have been bringing every thought into captivity to the obedience of Christ, it will be one of the greatest assets to faith when the time of trial comes, because your faith and the Spirit of God will work together. Learn to associate ideas worthy of God with all that happens in Nature--the sunrises and the sunsets, the sun and the stars, the changing seasons, and your imagination will never be at the mercy of your impulses, but will always be at the service of God." Wow. This is good stuff. It is in the imagination that we win or lose the battle with sin. I am convinced of that.

0 comments so far

last ~ next

Missed anything?
The Beatles--Abbey Road/Alice Cooper--Killer - July 04, 2012
The Beatles Eponymous Album - June 26, 2012
Autism's False Prophets - February 12, 2011
Santana--Guitar God? - November 11, 2010
Tribute To the Red Sox - September 29, 2010