index
archives
profile
rings
booklist
reviews
about
links
notes
email
View my guestbook
dland
RP Designs
Rachelskirts


free hit counter

Racism, The Music Man, and depression (2003-02-17 - 3:59 p.m.)

I just got through reading a news item about the 21 people killed in a stampede a Chicago nightclub. Naturally, I agree that it is a terrible tragedy, but there is a quote from Jesse Jackson who says something about "my people." I am so sick of his blatant racism! He is one of the worst "racists" in our nation. If he were a true American, "his people" would be all of us. Why is it ok for him to talk like that? If I were a white politician, and I said something that included the words "my people," the media would blast me up one side and down the other. Oh, well, enough of that.

We watched the remake of "The Music Man" on ABC last night. It was a Disney production. Matthew Broderick played the part made famous by Robert Preston many years ago (can't remember, but it was at least 30 years ago). In some ways, it was better, but in just as many ways, it was not as good as the original. Broderick, one of my favorite actors, was adequate in the role of Prof Harold Hill, but, I'm sorry, he just didn't come close to Preston's great con man. However, it was nice to see Hill and Marian being closer to the same age. I always thought that Preston was way too old for Shirley Jones. Marian's mother was good, as was Molly Shannon as Mrs. Shin (I'm not EVEN going to try to spell her name!). The young lady who played the Mayor's daughter was also quite good, looking almost exactly like the girl who played the original. Now, Winthrop? I'm sorry. I don't know how they think they could have EVER found someone who could play Winthrop as well as little Ronnie Howard! There is no comparison! That little kid didn't have a chance! The production was better, and the dancing was better. A few details were changed, for instance, Marcelus was a bartender instead of a blacksmith. I'm not sure why they made that change. The lady who played Marian could sing, too! At least as well as Shirley Jones in the original. Overall, it was entertaining and, of course, good family fare, but falls slightly short of the original production.

Chambers talks today about depression. He says that depression is normal. "A human being is capable of depression, otherwise there would be no capacity for exaltation." His answer? "We have to do the next thing and do it in the inspiration of God." In other words, we must get on with life. Whatever the next thing is, that is what we musts do. In Elijah's case in 1 Kings 19:5, it was to "arise and eat." That's it. What a simple thing. He was not given a great vision or a great task. He was simply instructed to "arise and eat." He was to do the next thing.

0 comments so far

last ~ next

Missed anything?
The Beatles--Abbey Road/Alice Cooper--Killer - July 04, 2012
The Beatles Eponymous Album - June 26, 2012
Autism's False Prophets - February 12, 2011
Santana--Guitar God? - November 11, 2010
Tribute To the Red Sox - September 29, 2010