index
archives
profile
rings
booklist
reviews
about
links
notes
email
View my guestbook
dland
RP Designs
Rachelskirts


free hit counter

"The Sum of All Fears," Hope, and Despair (2003-02-18 - 4:16 p.m.)

I don't have much time this afternoon, because I have to go to staff meeting at 5:00pm. Have to hurry.

First off, we watched "The Sum of All Fears" last night. Wow. It was a bit too real. Too close. I was in tears when that movie was over. I can so easily see all of that stuff really happening. Except for maybe Ben Affleck saving the world...It's those kinds of things that make me so glad that my hope is in God, not in the wisdom of presidents. Don't get me wrong...I pray for the wisdom of presidents, but they are men, just like me.

Today, Oswald Chambers speaks of despair. Yesterday, depression, today, despair. "Whenever we realize that we have not done that which we had a magnificent opportunity of doing, then we are apt to sink into despair; and Jesus Christ comes and says--'Sleep on now, that opportunity is lost forever, you cannot alter it, but arise and go to the next thing.' Let the past sleep, but let it sleep on the bosom of Christ, and go out into the irresistible future with Him." Great counsel! Again, it is to go on and do the next thing. We tend to wallow in our despair. I know I do. I get down and begin to dwell on how worthless I am and how I will never amount to anything, when what I need to do is get over it and get on with it! "Never let the sense of failure corrupt your new action."

0 comments so far

last ~ next

Missed anything?
The Beatles--Abbey Road/Alice Cooper--Killer - July 04, 2012
The Beatles Eponymous Album - June 26, 2012
Autism's False Prophets - February 12, 2011
Santana--Guitar God? - November 11, 2010
Tribute To the Red Sox - September 29, 2010