index
archives
profile
rings
booklist
reviews
about
links
notes
email
View my guestbook
dland
RP Designs
Rachelskirts


free hit counter

Relinquishing hold and waiting (2003-03-08 - 5:09 p.m.)

Wow. It's late on Saturday afternoon, and it has been a really busy day. We watched The Ring again this morning (first time for my wife). I'm not sure if she liked it or not, but she watched the whole thing, which surprised me. I really thought it would creep her out before it was over. There is some neat extra footage on the DVD, some of which I wish they had left in the movie. Especially the part where the innkeeper watched the tape.

We watched Sweet Home Alabama last night. It was rather disappointing. It was ok, but certainly not great. I really found it hard to sympathize with Witherspoon's character, Melanie Carmichael (she stole the name from another family in her hick Alabama town...I guess "Smooter" didn't suit her. Haha...I made a poem!), because, well she was just a jerk, that's why. It wound up okay, I guess. Even from a moral perspective, I guess the ending was right.

If we have time we are going to watch Tuck Everlasting tonight. But I have a lot to do before then, so on to the "spiritual" stuff.

I'm really excited about planning the worship service for tomorrow, which is one of the things I have left to do this afternoon. So why am I here? This is part of my preparation, for one thing. I haven't had my "devotions" today, yet. Oswald Chambers asks a very pertinent question; "Am I willing to relinquish my hold on all I possess, my hold on my affections, and on everything, and to be identified with the death of Jesus Christ?" Am I? That is the only way to be fit for all that He requires of me.

"It will be said on that day, 'Behold, this is our God; we have waited for him, that he might save us. This is Yahweh; we have waited for him; let us be glad and rejoice in his salvation.'" Isaiah 25:9

"...but they who wait for Yahweh shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings like eagles; they shall run and not be weary; they shall walk and not faint." Isaiah 40:31

I'm not sure I really know what it means to "wait on Yahweh." I don't think I have ever done it. My church certainly doesn't encourage it. That is sad, too. Our churches should specialize in waiting on God, but we run ahead, plan things out based on what we think should happen, and then ask our Father to bless it. I don't know how much longer I can participate in a ministry like that.

"One is not saved because he does works of love; he does works of love because he is saved."--C.S. Lewis

0 comments so far

last ~ next

Missed anything?
The Beatles--Abbey Road/Alice Cooper--Killer - July 04, 2012
The Beatles Eponymous Album - June 26, 2012
Autism's False Prophets - February 12, 2011
Santana--Guitar God? - November 11, 2010
Tribute To the Red Sox - September 29, 2010