index
archives
profile
rings
booklist
reviews
about
links
notes
email
View my guestbook
dland
RP Designs
Rachelskirts


free hit counter

Vision and martyrdom (2003-03-11 - 3:55 p.m.)

It's that day upon which I have to go to the evil STAFF MEETING! (DunDunDun!!!) lol

So, I have to kind of hurry this afternoon. I also need to get my worship service planned for Sunday. It has to be ready by tomorrow night, because that is our praise team rehearsal. But, tonight is also Buffy night. Yeah, I know. But, hey! It's the only tv show we watch. So that's not so bad. One hour a week on Tuesday night, and it's over on May 20. All over. The series finale (not season finale, mind you, but SERIES finale) will be on May 20. Rachel and Christi will be in DC that night, so I may have to tape it and delay watching until they get back. It is supposedly called "Chosen One." Rachel and I have been speculating furiously about how the season will end. We really don't have a clue. Joss Whedon is evil, so there's no telling how he will end it. All we know is that Buffy will probably survive, because SMG has agreed to make guest appearances in any spinoff that comes about, and there are some kind of plans for a spinoff, but no one's talking. Sigh. Well, enough about vampire slayers and on to stuff that really matters.

Chambers says that we have to "run our belief about God into practical issues." This means that we have to let God be part of every little piece of our lives. "The test is the sixty seconds of every minute, and the sixty minutes of every hour, not our times of prayer and devotional meetings." How true. How do I react to the drudgery that comes with everyday stuff? How do I carry myself at work? I know people who are christians who act like heathens in the work environment. I, personally am unable to compartmentalize my life in that way. Sure, I have my vices, but I always try to remember whose I am when I am around people in the workplace. People with whom I work know what I am. They know that I don't explode in anger, and that if I do slip up, I am man enough to apologize and admit that I was wrong. I also own up to my mistakes, which some people really seem to have a real problem doing.

"Waiting for the vision that tarries is the test of our loyalty to God." We get too caught up in the practical work and forget the vision.

I just read a true story of a young Muslim girl who converted to Christianity. Her friend and the pastor who were involved in her conversion were imprisoned and tortured (the girl ran away from home after her parents became outraged). When she was finally located, her brother stabbed her to death. He was not punished. The friend was eventually released from any charges of kidnapping, but had still been brutally tortured. This story came from the book, "Jesus Freaks," by DC Talk and The Voice of the Martyrs.

TTFN

0 comments so far

last ~ next

Missed anything?
The Beatles--Abbey Road/Alice Cooper--Killer - July 04, 2012
The Beatles Eponymous Album - June 26, 2012
Autism's False Prophets - February 12, 2011
Santana--Guitar God? - November 11, 2010
Tribute To the Red Sox - September 29, 2010