index
archives
profile
rings
booklist
reviews
about
links
notes
email
View my guestbook
dland
RP Designs
Rachelskirts


free hit counter

For the sake of appearance (2003-05-07 - 4:38 p.m.)

Ooh! Two entries in one day!! Well, that last one was barely today, so maybe it doesn't count.

We're all going to sit down and watch the tape from last night's BtVS episode together this evening. Hmmm....that was a perfectly horrid sentence. Let me try that again. We are all going to sit down together tonight and watch the tape of last night's BtVS episode. Together. Ghostiness watched it at home. Bad girl!! Staying up that late!! Tsk. Tsk. Tsk. and shame, shame, shame...finally fell asleep on the plane, to wake to see we're goin' down in flames...down in flames! What? Oh, sorry. Had a moment there. I watched it work. (Please don't tell my boss, ok?) Mom slept. She doesn't do anything at 11:00 pm. Except sleep. Anyway, I'm not going to make any more comments until I watch it again without having to jump up and leave the room every 5 minutes.

Gotta get spiritual today. I haven't done that in several days. Too many distractions.

In Galatians 2, Paul says, "God isn't impressed with mere appearances, and neither am I." (The Message) I agree with that so much! I detest doing anything just for the sake of appearance. There needs to be a sincere reason for everything that happens, especially in ministry. And as for trying to live by a certain set of rules, Paul has this to say: "If a living relationship with God could come by rule-keeping, then Christ died unnecessarily." (MSG) So how are we supposed to live? I think verse 20 says it pretty well..."I have been crucified with Christ. My ego is no longer central. It is no longer important that I appear righteous before you or have your good opinion, and I am no longer driven to impress God. Christ lives in me. The life you see me living is not 'mine,' but is lived by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me." (MSG) "My ego is no longer central." Read that again. What kind of world would we have if everyone could say that? Heck, would we even be putting up journals for the whole world to read? Perhaps. By the way, by writing these things, I don't say that "I'm better than you, look how spiritual I am." You would be amazed at some of the things that I struggle with. We are all a lot alike (in different ways). Heheheh...I write these things so that maybe, just maybe, someone else can benefit from the things that are inspiring me.

Well, that's it for today. 2 more nights of work until we go to Chicago!

TTFN

0 comments so far

last ~ next

Missed anything?
The Beatles--Abbey Road/Alice Cooper--Killer - July 04, 2012
The Beatles Eponymous Album - June 26, 2012
Autism's False Prophets - February 12, 2011
Santana--Guitar God? - November 11, 2010
Tribute To the Red Sox - September 29, 2010