index
archives
profile
rings
booklist
reviews
about
links
notes
email
View my guestbook
dland
RP Designs
Rachelskirts


free hit counter

Identification with Christ, and why He died (2003-05-17 - 12:41 p.m.)

I'm pondering the thought of dividing entries up each day. Possibly two entries a day if I something "spiritual" to contribute. One thing I have decided, and that is to stop trying to "catch up" on devotions. If I miss a day, I miss a day. When I get behind, if I try to catch up, I spend so much time doing that that I really miss the whole point of having the devotions in the first place. After all these years, I am still trying to get it right. Perhaps I never will. Perhaps if I ever think I have gotten it right, I will be in big, big trouble.

Today, Oswald Chambers makes a good distinction between the segments of Christ's life before and after the Transfiguration. We humans can identify with a lot of His life before the Transfiguration, however, the major events of His life after have nothing much that we can identify with. For after the Transfiguration, we have Gethsemane, the Cross, the Resurrection, and the Ascension. Chambers says this: "On the Mount of Ascension the Transfiguration is completed. If Jesus had gone to heaven from the Mount of Transfiguration, He would have gone alone; He would have been nothing more to us than a glorious Figure. But He turned His back on the glory, and came down from the mount to identify Himself with fallen humanity."

Reading in Galatians 1, today. Verses 3-4 says, "Our Lord Jesus Christ...gave Himself for our sins, that He might deliver us from this present evil age." Oh, yes, how we need delivering from this evil age. Is it just me, or does this age seem even more evil than the age in which Paul was writing? Martin Luther wrote: "My sins are not imaginary transgressions, but sins against God: unbelief, doubt, despair, contempt, hatred, ingratitude, ignorance of God, misuse of His name, neglect of His Word; and sins agains others: dishonor of parents, disobedience to government, coveting another's possessions." These are what I need deliverance from. These are why Christ died.

0 comments so far

last ~ next

Missed anything?
The Beatles--Abbey Road/Alice Cooper--Killer - July 04, 2012
The Beatles Eponymous Album - June 26, 2012
Autism's False Prophets - February 12, 2011
Santana--Guitar God? - November 11, 2010
Tribute To the Red Sox - September 29, 2010