index
archives
profile
rings
booklist
reviews
about
links
notes
email
View my guestbook
dland
RP Designs
Rachelskirts


free hit counter

ZZ Top, ZZ Top, ZZ Top!!! (2003-06-15 - 7:36 a.m.)

Wow!!! Where the heck have I been? Lazy, busy, you name it. I think mostly lazy. Anyway...I'm back, diary. Didja miss me? The stats are way down. That's not too good, but do I really care how many people read this? Of course! Why else would I put it out here where everyone can access it??

Christi and I had a wonderful time last night. I don't remember if I mentioned it in a previous entry or not, but she won tickets to the ZZ Top concert in Dallas last night. The seats were in her company's luxury suite at he AA center, along with a Platinum parking pass! Woohoo! Nice, thick, comfy seats with a little table between them, and yards (literally yards) away from the next person (who was so enthusiastic that he got a little scary by the end...Christi said he was drinking something from a little flask...). The opening act was Kenny Wayne Shepard (sp?) and Double Trouble, who, if you remember was Stevie Ray Vaughn's band. I guess they don't play any SRV songs, because I didn't recognize anything. Kenny is a fine blues guitar player, but it honestly sounded like 45 minutes of the same song. Except when his amp quit working, which it did several times toward the end of their set. I felt really bad for him.

Around 9:30 ZZ Top came on. They opened with "Gimme All Your Lovin'" which I recognized from the first drum beat! Those guys are so cool! Has there ever been anyone cooler than Dusty and Billy? I don't care if you don't like the music, just LOOK AT THEM!! They look like coolness personified. I mean, then they move across the stage, they almost glide! Never excited about anything, just cool. It was so much fun to watch them play. They did most of their hits, including "Been Waitin' On the Bus All Day," "Jesus Just Left Chicago," "Pincushion." They finished off their set with "Sharp Dressed Man," followed immediately by "Legs." They left the stage for a few minutes and returned to close out the night with the favorites "La Grange," and "Tush." A very, very satisfying night indeed. The antics of Billy and Dusty must be seen to be believed. There are so many things that they do together in sync. Of course, they have been doing this for 34 years! That's right kiddies. Thirty-four! And that fact can be validated by the average age of last night's concert-goer. Most of them, I think, were older than me (I'm 45!). Heheh...and there sure were a lot of pickups in the parking garage *weg*...What a night...light-hearted, not-too-serious fun, and all free!

There are other things that have happened since my last entry, that I must try to get caught up on, such as finishing "The Face," by Dean Koontz, and an autobiographical book by Carl Reiner called "My Anecdotal Life." Funny, funny, funny man! All for later, though. I must go to church, now. Today, I am playing a song by the Kry called Cassie's Song. It is taken directly from a poem written by Cassie Bernal two days before she was shot to death at Columbine High School in 1999.

Happy Father's Day, y'all.

0 comments so far

last ~ next

Missed anything?
The Beatles--Abbey Road/Alice Cooper--Killer - July 04, 2012
The Beatles Eponymous Album - June 26, 2012
Autism's False Prophets - February 12, 2011
Santana--Guitar God? - November 11, 2010
Tribute To the Red Sox - September 29, 2010