index
archives
profile
rings
booklist
reviews
about
links
notes
email
View my guestbook
dland
RP Designs
Rachelskirts


free hit counter

What place is God in? (2003-07-13 - 8:24 a.m.)

Sunday morning...one of my favorite times of the week. I get to sit in here with my cup of coffee, check my email, and eventually hurry through a devotional. Hm....methinks the priorities are a little askew. Need to leave more time for the devotionals.

The "journey" that I have written about kind of needs a jump start. What? Am I inconsistent? You betcha! That's me. Mr. Insconsistency. But that kind of quality only comes from years of practice.

People speak of God being first in their lives, and others second and themselves third. In fact, that was the title, I think, of a semi-famous biography of a football player. I Am Third. Made into a movie (major tear jerkage!) called "Brian's Song." The "Brian" was a friend of Gale Sayers, a famous runningback. Did I spell his name right? Do I care? Anyway, point is, God really should be everything. Here is how Oswald Chambers puts it: "It must be God first, God second, and God third, until the life is faced steadily with God and no one else is of any account whatever." Does this mean we don't care about anyone else? No. Because the Bible certainly tells us that we must care for others. We must not care about others more than God, though. He must be everything. "Love the Lord your God with all your heart, soul, mind, and strength." This is the greatest commandment. The second greatest is, "Love your neighbor as yourself." Point is, if you are keeping the first one, you will keep the second by default. Who among us can say that we truly love the Lord with all that we are and all that we have? I can't say that I have honestly gotten to that point, yet. I still tend to love myself too much. Which, in turn, makes me hate myself. ? Ouch.

0 comments so far

last ~ next

Missed anything?
The Beatles--Abbey Road/Alice Cooper--Killer - July 04, 2012
The Beatles Eponymous Album - June 26, 2012
Autism's False Prophets - February 12, 2011
Santana--Guitar God? - November 11, 2010
Tribute To the Red Sox - September 29, 2010