index
archives
profile
rings
booklist
reviews
about
links
notes
email
View my guestbook
dland
RP Designs
Rachelskirts


free hit counter

Doctrine vs. Intimacy (2003-08-16 - 2:58 p.m.)

Ok...I'm supposed to be getting ready for my worship service on Sunday...not putting a diary entry in. But, part of my "getting ready" involves doing a little bit of devotional reading. So I'm reading a page of My Utmost For His Highest. Chambers speaks of distinguishing between knowing doctrine and knowing Jesus. Seems semantical, (is that a word? semantical, semantical...I like it) but it's really true. His prime example is Mary in the garden, weeping after the resurrection of Jesus. She didn't know doctrine from a hole in the ground. Ok, maybe she did. I mean, a hole is *slap* oh, sorry...ok... But she knew Jesus. Chambers mentions that any Pharisee could have made a fool out of Mary in the area of doctrine. I have prided my self in my knowledge of doctrine over the years. But do I know Jesus? I mean, really know Him? Have I denied Him in some area of my life?

I think that I see a change of direction coming in my devotional life. Doctrine is good, and study is good, but I need to focus more on knowing Jesus and the Father. I need to focus more on the intimacy with the Father that was so valuable to David in the Psalms. In fact, that is what Seba is preaching about tomorrow, so I need to look at some Psalms as I prepare for the worship service.

So...tomorrow we will open our service with "God of Wonders," one of our favorites. We will probably have our usual welcome then, then move to "Firm Foundation," "Sweet Mercies," and the hymn, "It Is Well With My Soul." I will sing a song that I wrote for the offertory, called "Psalm 19 Revisited."

Later.

0 comments so far

last ~ next

Missed anything?
The Beatles--Abbey Road/Alice Cooper--Killer - July 04, 2012
The Beatles Eponymous Album - June 26, 2012
Autism's False Prophets - February 12, 2011
Santana--Guitar God? - November 11, 2010
Tribute To the Red Sox - September 29, 2010