index
archives
profile
rings
booklist
reviews
about
links
notes
email
View my guestbook
dland
RP Designs
Rachelskirts


free hit counter

Forgiveness? (2003-12-08 - 5:15 p.m.)

Buffy Season 5 comes out tomorrow! Yay!!!

Now that I've gotten that out of the way...

We had a great service at our church last night. We had our first �Hanging of the Green� service where we explain the symbolism of all of the Christmas decorations. It went really well (except for my hatchet job of �I Heard the Bells on Christmas Day�), and I think everyone was blessed.

It�s getting late, so I need to hurry, here.

I like the way Chambers starts today�s reading: �We trample the blood of the Son of God under foot if we think we are forgiven because we are sorry for our sins.� He goes on to say that the only explanation for our forgiveness is the death of Jesus. Our sorrow, or repentance, is simply the working out of this atonement. �Wherever the joy of God is not present, the death sentence is at work.� Joy is the product of the atonement mixed with repentance.

Our �reinstatement� by the death of Christ is accepted, not earned. There is only one door, which Christ has opened. Any pleading which does not recognize the cross is battering at the wrong door. So my repentance does not cause my forgiveness. It is a result of my forgiveness.

0 comments so far

last ~ next

Missed anything?
The Beatles--Abbey Road/Alice Cooper--Killer - July 04, 2012
The Beatles Eponymous Album - June 26, 2012
Autism's False Prophets - February 12, 2011
Santana--Guitar God? - November 11, 2010
Tribute To the Red Sox - September 29, 2010