index
archives
profile
rings
booklist
reviews
about
links
notes
email
View my guestbook
dland
RP Designs
Rachelskirts


free hit counter

A Night Off (2004-02-27 - 9:36 a.m.)

I was off work last night, for the first time since we started cutting hours. I had been working two half nights because of the massive amount of work that the temporary Wal-Mart account provided. That job is over, so I got approval to take off on Thursday nights. At any rate, I am home this morning, after a full night�s sleep. Yay!

I�ve got a lot planned today. I�m planning to clean the house (oh, yeah) and get a haircut. Somewhere in there, I also have plans to at least watch one movie or spend some time playing games.


Chambers talks about how most men seem to believe that the teachings of Jesus are great and all that, but really impractical in today�s world. You, know, Jesus just doesn�t understand how it is down here, now. �My misgivings arise from the fact that I ransack my own person to find out how He will be able to do it. My questions spring from the depths of my own inferiority.� When once we come to grips with this, we need to confess it to God. �Lord, I have had misgivings about Thee, I have not believed in Thy wits apart from my own; I have not believed in Thine almighty power apart from my finite understanding of it.� There is the key. Our understanding of God�s power is always limited by our �finite-ness.�

From the same story, (the woman at the well in John, chapter 4) Chambers begins a reading about the depths of the well. �The well is deep,� the woman says. It is even deeper than she can imagine. We prevent the Lord from working by telling Him that He cannot draw peace and comfort from the deep wells of our troubled hearts. But He does not draw anything from our wells. He brings them down from above. �We impoverish His ministry the moment we forget He is Almighty. We will come to Jesus as Comforter or as Sympathizer, but we will not come to Him as Almighty.�

It is interesting, as I read the Daily Bible reading, that Leviticus 21 describes some of the requirements for the priests. There are several that make one stop and think twice. One is that priests were supposed to take wives (Leviticus 21:13). The Catholic tradition of celibate priesthood is a direct contradiction of Biblical command. Another is that the priests had to be lacking any type of physical defects (21:16-23)! At first this struck me as odd, especially since God seems to be about accepting everyone as they are. But then I stopped to consider the weight of what is being discussed. These are the people that offer the sacrifices to God daily, weekly, yearly, etc. The sacrifices had to be unblemished; so did those offering the sacrifices. Imagine, if you will, that you are a worshiper, bringing your daily sacrifice to the altar. The priest on duty has a hideous deformity. Are you going to be focusing on your heavenly Father and His grace and mercy? I think not. You will be staring at the hideous deformity. Or working double-time to NOT stare at it. Either way, that�s all you�re thinking about.


There will be another entry later today about Angel. I�ve purposely not written about it since the cancellation because I really needed time to gather my thoughts. Having given up on that idea, I�m going to write something about it, anyway.

0 comments so far

last ~ next

Missed anything?
The Beatles--Abbey Road/Alice Cooper--Killer - July 04, 2012
The Beatles Eponymous Album - June 26, 2012
Autism's False Prophets - February 12, 2011
Santana--Guitar God? - November 11, 2010
Tribute To the Red Sox - September 29, 2010