index
archives
profile
rings
booklist
reviews
about
links
notes
email
View my guestbook
dland
RP Designs
Rachelskirts


free hit counter

Illness, Grades, and Lisey's Story (2007-01-12 - 6:58 p.m.)

My wife is feeling better tonight. That's great news.

Stephanie (the high functioning autistic daughter) got her report card from the first sememster today. She made mid to high 80s in everything. So she is doing well in middle school. Granted, she is in resource (nice word for "Special Ed") in Math, Reading, and English, but, still, we are very pleased with these grades.

I finished my first book of the year today. It is also book number 1037 on my list of books that I have read since April of 1974.

Today, I finished Lisey's Story, by Stephen King. It was ok. It wasn't great, especially by his standards, but it was ok. Out of the 513 pages, there were only a handful that were really "StephenKing-ish." But it was, nevertheless, enjoyable.

From there, I'm moving on to more Jim Butcher. I decided to re-read the first two books in the Codex Alera series. The first is Furies of Calderon. We have the newest and third volume of this series, but I've forgotten enough that I need to refresh my memory.

Oh. Speaking of Jim Butcher. I don't think I mentioned, but the SciFi channel is debuting the series of "The Dresden Files" on Sunday night, January 21. We are very excited about this show (but apprehensive at the same time). You know how tv and movies can take a character that you have grown to love and just flat destroy it on the screen. We hope that doesn't happen with Harry Dresden.

It's getting colder by the minute in Texas. We may be frozen in by tomorrow night. Of course, for Texans, that means there is ice anywhere outside.

You think I'm kidding, don't you?

TTFN, y'all

0 comments so far

last ~ next

Missed anything?
The Beatles--Abbey Road/Alice Cooper--Killer - July 04, 2012
The Beatles Eponymous Album - June 26, 2012
Autism's False Prophets - February 12, 2011
Santana--Guitar God? - November 11, 2010
Tribute To the Red Sox - September 29, 2010