index
archives
profile
rings
booklist
reviews
about
links
notes
email
View my guestbook
dland
RP Designs
Rachelskirts


free hit counter

Backs, Baseball and Beatles (2007-04-14 - 8:49 a.m.)

First of all, I am really glad to hear that Sandyz is recovering well. She had back surgery earlier in the week, and seems to be doing really well. That's awesome!

If you hate or don't care about baseball at all, skip down to the last part. There's more after the baseball update...


Yesterday was a great day in baseball. Fortunately, the Rangers were playing in Seattle, because we had, um...well, tornadoes and stuff in DFW, Texas. Serious weather. Tennis-ball sized hail at my house. I saved a couple of them in the freezer.

Anyway, the Rangers beat the Mariners 5-2 late last night, which is good, because they are division rivals. The Red Sox (my other favorite team in case you just started reading this diary today) beat...no, pounded, yea, verily THRASHED, the Los Angeles Anaheim California Orange County Angels, 10-1! This is good for two reasons. One, they are in the same division as the Rangers. Two, hey, it's the Red Sox! And, finally, as I watched the 11th inning in Oakland, the A's beat the YANKEES!!!

WAHOOOOOOOO!!!

That's slightly bad, because the A's are also in the Rangers' division. But the good totally outweighs the bad, because it means the Yankees lost. Nothing could be better than the Yankees losing.

Ok. Maybe a few things.

But not many.

So that puts the Rangers only .5 game behind the Angels (the Mariners are also .5 behind, but have only played 6 games because of an entire series in Clevland getting snowed out...yes, I said "snowed.").

The Sox are actually .5 behind Toronto in the East, but only because Toronto has played one more game. They are a full game ahead of Baltimore and New York.

I love baseball season...


Last thing...I was listening to my mp3 player at work the other night; had it on "shuffle." "All You Need Is Love" came up. I would like to quote the lyrics of that song here. I don't think I ever noticed quite how profound they are.

There's nothing you can do that can't be done
Nothing you can sing that can't be sung
Nothing you can say, but you can learn how to play the game
It's easy...

There's nothing you can make that can't be made
No one you can save that can't be saved
Nothing you can do, but you can learn how to be you in time
It's easy...

All you need is love
All you need is love
All you need is love, love
Love is all you need

There's nothing you can know that isn't known
Nothing you can see that isn't shown
Nowhere you can be that isn't where you're meant to be

It's easy...

Two lines really struck me that night. The first was, "Nothing you can do but you can learn how to be you in time," and the second, "Nowhere you can be that isn't where you're meant to be."

Wow.

Lennon and McCartney actually made sense before they got all those drugs...after that, we got stuff like, "Sitting on a corn flake....waiting for the band to come...I am the walrus...kookookachoo."

Right.

Don't get me wrong...that is one of my favorite Beatles songs...but does anyone really understand it?

If you do, maybe I need some of your drugs...

TTFN, y'all

1 comments so far

last ~ next

Missed anything?
The Beatles--Abbey Road/Alice Cooper--Killer - July 04, 2012
The Beatles Eponymous Album - June 26, 2012
Autism's False Prophets - February 12, 2011
Santana--Guitar God? - November 11, 2010
Tribute To the Red Sox - September 29, 2010