index
archives
profile
rings
booklist
reviews
about
links
notes
email
View my guestbook
dland
RP Designs
Rachelskirts


free hit counter

Baseball, Hot Dogs, Apple Pie, Memorial Day! (2007-05-28 - 9:42 a.m.)

Happy Memorial Day!

Wait. Is that even appropriate?? Should it be "happy??" I'm thinking it should be more somber. You know, silent reflection on the sacrifices made by our armed services.

Somber Memorial Day!!

Well, that just doesn't sound right. Oh, well.


I came across this reading from My Utmost For His Highest this morning. (I'm very far behind, so if you read this book, you read this one on May 8th.) Here is just an excerpt.

The real meaning of eternal life is a life that can face anything it has to face without wavering. If we take this view, life becomes one great romance, a glorious opportunity for seeing marvelous things all the time.

I like that. "One great romance." That's what life should be.


It was a good weekend for Boston in Texas. Not so good for the Rangers, who are a half a game away from being the worst team in baseball. I can't remember when our team has had a record that bad.

The Red Sox, on the other hand are the best team in baseball, currently, by four games. The Evil Empire is a whopping 12.5 games behind them, in fourth place!! MWAHAHAHAHAAAAA!!!!! (That was an evil, maniacal laugh, in case you couldn't tell.)

Stephie and I went to two games, this past weekend. Friday night's game had a two hour rain delay. Game started at 9pm central. We lasted until the top of the third. I listened tot he rest of the game at home. It lasted until 12:30am! Red Sox won 10-6.

Saturday night's game started on time and played on, in spite of several rain showers. We got to see Jonathan Papelbon pitch in the night for the save. After the last out (Red Sox won 7-4), I looked over at Stephanie.

She was crying!!

Dang.

I felt like the biggest heel in the universe.

"I just wanted them to win," she said.

The good news is that is the last time the Sox will be in Texas this year. I'll be a staunch Rangers supporter for the rest of the season.

Except for two days in Boston, July 1 and 2.

I will say it must be difficult for the Rangers, though, when over half of your home stadium is chanting "Let's go, Red Sox." But it's that way everywhere the Red Sox go. And the thing that makes me angry is that you NEVER hear the Rangers fans burst into spontaneous "Let's go, Rangers" cheers or anything like it. This time, they didn't even "boo" when the Red Sox fans cheered.

Yeah, I know. I was cheering for the Red Sox. But when I'm not and I would love to cheer for the Rangers, I would be a lone voice in the thousands. You try to start a cheer and people just look at you like you're stupid or something.

Until some idiot starts a "wave." Then everybody jumps in. But that has nothing to do with what team you're rooting for.

Oh, well.

The Rangers have two very important series coming up now. They play Oakland and then Seattle, both teams in their division. And, as usual, every team in the AL west is mediocre, at best, so the Rangers could make some ground this week, if their pitching can just not melt down.

TTFN, y'all...oh, and I've noticed that my next entry will be number 400!

Wow.

1 comments so far

last ~ next

Missed anything?
The Beatles--Abbey Road/Alice Cooper--Killer - July 04, 2012
The Beatles Eponymous Album - June 26, 2012
Autism's False Prophets - February 12, 2011
Santana--Guitar God? - November 11, 2010
Tribute To the Red Sox - September 29, 2010