index
archives
profile
rings
booklist
reviews
about
links
notes
email
View my guestbook
dland
RP Designs
Rachelskirts


free hit counter

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows (2007-08-04 - 7:28 a.m.)

Don't worry. No spoilers. I promise.

I finished this book on...um...Tuesday morning, I think. I stayed up way too late reading it, until around noon (I work graveyards, in case you've forgotten). But I couldn't put it down, once all heck broke loose with about three or four chapters left.

Honestly, this is probably the least well written of all seven books. I struggled to stay with it up until the "Battle of Hogwarts" started up. Once again, there is way too much of Ron and Harry and Hermione just yelling at each other. And Rowling's insistance of trying to write the French girl's dialogue the way it sounds is, well, annoying, to say the least. Not to mention that it looked more like an English accent than French. The writing style at the first of the book seemed forced. It just didn't flow. it hink it is good that she has completed the series. Perhaps she can move on to something else. Or perhaps we will find out that she can't write anything else. Kind of like Terry Brooks, who can only write Shannara books. He ventured briefly into the Magic Kingdom for Sale series, but the bulk of his work has been Shannara. But...if you can only write one thing, it's probably not a good idea to end that thing, eh?

There are multiple deaths in Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, which I am sure most people have heard by now. As to who they are...only one of them really hurt. And it was senseless, which kind of made me mad. One is obvious. The rest...not so much. And that's all I'm going to say about that.

The best part of the book for me was right before Harry and company began the big battle towards the end. What happens there actually brought tears to my eyes. I think it would for anyone who has followed this series all the way through.

Did I like the book? Meh. The last few chapters were great. Up to that point, it was just another average fantasy book.

Currently, I'm reading a really good collection of short stories, entitled Wizards. Has one Neal Gaiman story in it.

TTFN, y'all!

1 comments so far

last ~ next

Missed anything?
The Beatles--Abbey Road/Alice Cooper--Killer - July 04, 2012
The Beatles Eponymous Album - June 26, 2012
Autism's False Prophets - February 12, 2011
Santana--Guitar God? - November 11, 2010
Tribute To the Red Sox - September 29, 2010