index
archives
profile
rings
booklist
reviews
about
links
notes
email
View my guestbook
dland
RP Designs
Rachelskirts


free hit counter

Just Can't Get It Write (November 18, 2007 - 7:44 a.m.)

I have more examples of the brain power of the people I work with. Here is the exact text of a memo that was placed in our drivers' boxes last week.

Our records indicate that preventive maintenance for unit#____ was due as of _____. Please turn in PM form by _____. You will not receive paycheck until paperwork and receipts if neccasary are submitted.

I'm not sure what "preventive" means. Well, yes I am, but that one is almost understandable...if you get in a hurry, you might leave a syllable out of a word. But NECCASARY???? I'm sorry...that's not even close! I'm amazed that whoever (whomever??) typed up this memo spelled "receipts" right, considering the butchering of "necessary." I was embarassed when I saw this memo.

Now here is one from one of the corporate bigwigs of one of our biggest customers. This came in an email, so everyone got it.

If this freight can be sorted as it is less than 200 cartons please due so that it can be delivered on the right in-store date.

Hehehe..."please due." I'm used to seeing "do" used instead of "due," but I don't think I've ever seen "due" used instead of "do."

Great examples of how bad the reading, writing, and spelling is getting in our world.

I'm pretty sure it's a lost cause.

TTFN, y'all!

1 comments so far

last ~ next

Missed anything?
The Beatles--Abbey Road/Alice Cooper--Killer - July 04, 2012
The Beatles Eponymous Album - June 26, 2012
Autism's False Prophets - February 12, 2011
Santana--Guitar God? - November 11, 2010
Tribute To the Red Sox - September 29, 2010