index
archives
profile
rings
booklist
reviews
about
links
notes
email
View my guestbook
dland
RP Designs
Rachelskirts


free hit counter

A Brief History of Time. Or at Least Christmas and New Year's and the Last Weekend. (January 07, 2008 - 12:10 a.m.)

I can't believe I haven't updated since before Christmas. But I've been concentrating a little more on making sure that I keep talktogod updated. That's a priority for this year.

Christmas went pretty well. We had a few tense moments at my sister-in-law's house, but that's because she broke the rules and invited my father-in-law and his wife.

Let me explain. My in-laws are divorced. For 22+ years, Christmas Eve has been for my Mother-in-law's part of the family. We always meet with them and have dinner and exchange gifts. Then we would go to my father-in-law's on Christmas morning. Somewhere in there we would squeeze in my parent, too.

This year, my father-in-law and his wife decided (with a week's notice, mind you) that we were all going to have Thanksgiving and Christmas at one time on November 2. Why, you ask? I'm glad you asked...because her youngest son was shipping off to Japan for three years. AND they said it would be the only Thanksgiving and Christmas they would have.

So we all dropped everything we were doing, bought some gifts so we could play "chinese gift giving" (I still wonder why the Chinese get blamed for this), and went and played nice. It was a trip.

Anyway...so they should not have been at our Christmas Eve celebration. But they were. And my sister-in-law bought them a gift. Grr. We didn't. Because we listened. We had already had Christmas with them.

But. The highlight of the night was the gift that my mother-in-law and her husband gave us ("us" being translated ME)! They gave us a brand new set of Emeril cookware!

Can I get an "AMEN?" That stuff is suh-weet!

Well, anyway...Christmas turned out pretty nice. And New Year's was pretty good, too. Except for Christi not feeling well most of the time. But I think she is finally over most of her sickness.

This past weekend, Rachel (my oldest) and her boyfriend, Justin came over. But before they got there, I went to see Sweeney Todd, the Demon Barber of Fleet Street for the third time.

Yes. I have now seen that movie three times. Not since Jurassic Park have I seen a movie three times at the theater. The record is still held by Amadeus at 5. This time I went with my friend Phillip from work. The second time, Christi went with me. She also liked it. As did Phillip. It gets better every time.

Last night, I downloaded the soundtrack from Yahoo! Music Unlimited.

We had a good time with Rachel and Justin. We all went to eat at Saltgrass, then when we got home, we stayed up way too late playing a game called "Apples to Apples." It was great fun.

Sunday was a good day at church. The pastor gave us a good message on growing during 2008, and our growing being patterned after Jesus. His text was simply a couple of verses in Luke that speak of Jesus growing in wisdom and stature and in favor (or "grace") with God and man. The worship went well, and I introduced our church to the song "Majesty," by Martin Smith.

After church, we met Rachel and Justin at Bennigans for lunch. Good times.

I'm going to try to write more here, if for nothing else just to keep up with what is going on in the bickleyhouse.

Well, break's over...back to work.

TTFN, y'all!

0 comments so far

last ~ next

Missed anything?
The Beatles--Abbey Road/Alice Cooper--Killer - July 04, 2012
The Beatles Eponymous Album - June 26, 2012
Autism's False Prophets - February 12, 2011
Santana--Guitar God? - November 11, 2010
Tribute To the Red Sox - September 29, 2010