index
archives
profile
rings
booklist
reviews
about
links
notes
email
View my guestbook
dland
RP Designs
Rachelskirts


free hit counter

Weekend Update (January 15, 2008 - 12:28 a.m.)

I'll try to recap the weekend here. It was kind of busy, it seems.

Rachel had her oral surgery Friday afternoon, which went really well. Didn't take very long at all. Christi stayed with her, then took her back to her apartment, where they stayed until about 4:30. Then they left there to go pick up Rachel's boyfriend in Farmersville.

He was busy with some work stuff, and I think they finally left Farmersville around 6 or 7.

In the meantime, I'm picking up stuff at the grocery store to make chili for dinner. Obviously, Rachel wouldn't be able to eat that, but we had a lot of soft stuff that she could have. Soup, yogurt, applesauce, etc.

They finally got back around 8 or so, and we settled down to eat and watch "Hot Fuzz."

What a hilarious movie. I was pleasantly surprised at this "buddy cop" spoof. It's made by the same people who made "Shawn of the Dead." And the same two main actors are in it. They work really well together and I thought this movie was very well done.

Saturday, Christi got up and went to a car dealership in Lewisville and traded cars. She traded in her Altima for a '07 Accord. Slightly high mileage on it, but it's never been owned. Seems it was strictly a loaner. Nice car.

When she got back, we had some lunch and watched an episode of Battlestar Galactica. (I'm officially hooked on this series which, sadly, is ending this season.) Then we jumped in her new car and drove to Dallas to visit the "Baseball as America" exhibit at the museum. Unfortunately, the museum closes at 5:00 and we got there at 4:30. So we kind of ran through and saw the high points, which included a bat that Babe Ruth used (hit his 60th homer with it), the bat Roger Maris used to hit his record 61st homer for one season, and bats that Mark McGwire and Sammy Sosa used during the season they were battling for the home run crown.

There was also an authentic T-206 Honus Wagner baseball card. Yowzer. As well as the original handwritten lyrics to "Take Me Out To the Ballgame." I didn't know it had a verse as well as the chorus that we are all so familiar with.

There was a lot of other stuff there. I wish we had had more time to look it over, but the exhibit left Dallas on Sunday, so it was the last weekend.

Saturday night, we cooked steaks for us and Justin and mashed potatoes for Rachel (and creamed corn). Then we watched "Stardust."

Stardust is quite good. They didn't follow Gaiman's novel exactly, but it was close. The whole Robert DeNiro "gay pirate" story was pretty much a major departure from the book. There was a flying pirate ship in the book, but the resemblance kind of fades at that point.

Claire Danes does a good job as the "star," and Michelle Pfeiffer (still gorgeous) plays one of the witches. Perhaps the best part of the movie was the comic relief provided by the dead brothers who were always appearing alongside the one(s) that were still alive.

I highly recommend the movie for anyone who is a fan of the fantasy genre.

Sunday went well. We had a good worship service at church, then called in Chinese food for lunch. Oh, yeah. During all this time, I'm struggling with a temporary crown that kept falling out every time I would eat. Fun times!

So yesterday morning, that was finally taken care of because I went back to the dentist to have the permant crowns put in, and my bridge-work started. So now, I finally have a full set of teeth on the right side, along with a temp bridge on the left. Which means, I finally don't have a hole on my left side. Two more visits and the permanent bridge will be in.

I had to endure an extraction as well, yesterday morning, my first ever. It wasn't nearly as bad as I expected. I'm sore now, but never filled the pain meds that the dentist gave me. I can endure this pain with some Advil. No needs for Darvoset.

That's pretty much the weekend in a nutshell. Not much happening in the baseball world.

Oh. Heh. And the Cowboys lost. Aw...poor Jerry.

Aaand, the Colts messed around and let the Chargers beat them. So that means there isn't much between the Patriots and a record setting season...undefeated with a Superbowl. Probably be the Packers and Pats in the 'bowl. Pats will win.

I can't think of anything else. Soooo...

TTFN, y'all!

0 comments so far

last ~ next

Missed anything?
The Beatles--Abbey Road/Alice Cooper--Killer - July 04, 2012
The Beatles Eponymous Album - June 26, 2012
Autism's False Prophets - February 12, 2011
Santana--Guitar God? - November 11, 2010
Tribute To the Red Sox - September 29, 2010