index
archives
profile
rings
booklist
reviews
about
links
notes
email
View my guestbook
dland
RP Designs
Rachelskirts


free hit counter

Random Observations (March 27, 2008 - 11:43 p.m.)

I was at the grocery store this afternoon, getting a strawberry cake mix for my oldest daughter's birthday, which is Saturday.

I found a box of Blue Bell ice cream sandwiches that some moron had left on the shelf on top of a bunch of frosting cans.

So I dutifully took the box to the lady who was watching over the checkout aisles.

I just can't believe some people. About a month ago, I found a package of meat that someone had decided they didn't want and left it sitting on the dog food aisle. It was already warm.

I'll be the first to admit that I have left stuff in the grocery store on an aisle that it doesn't belong on, but not frozen or refrigerated stuff! Geez. That's the kind of crap that winds up costing all of us money in the long run.



Now for a brief comment on the American Idol elimination show Wednesday night.

America voted, and once again, America proves that it has not taste when it comes to pop music. How in the aitch-eee-ell-ell did Chikezie and Syesha wind up in the bottom three????? Dear Lord!

I wasn't surprised to see Jason there. I like him, but his song Tuesday night was weak, very weak. But the other two should have been Ramiele and probably Cristy Lee Cook. But Cristy played the "patriot card" Tuesday night, so that probably got her another couple of weeks. But Ramiele sang a song that had already been done by someone else, and did it rather horribly.

Syesha was amazing Tuesday night. It wasn't perfect, but it was good. One of the best performances of the week.

And these are just my opinions, too, but I'm at least as musically educated as Simon Cowell, so I think I know what I'm talking about.

I'm thinking that David Cook is going to win this year. As long as he doesn't blow it. Of course, I thought Daughtry was going to win his year, too.

But a guy will win this year. That's almost a given. I'm not sure how they do that, but it will happen. And Cook is the best guy on the show. Archuleta, for some reason has lost his magic for me. I'm not sure why. He was adorable for the first few weeks, but I think we're tired of him. Cook is being very unique and imaginative and making every song his own, pretty much. Others, like Ramiele, are basically just doing karaoke.

David Cook and Brooke White are my favorites right now. Followed by Jason Castro (heck, I gotta root for the home boy) and a close tie between Syesha and Carly. Both of them have been really remarkable one week and really forgettable the next. I thought Carly had really messed up by singing that horrible 80's song, "Total Eclipse of the Heart." Oh, I like the song, sure. But you can't get much cheesier, and have you seen the video for it? Egad!

It all comes down to what Simon always says, and I heartily agree with him. Contestants need to forget about what songs they've always wanted to sing on American Idol. David Archuleta sang some song I've never heard before...it was very boring and very forgettable. But he kept saying it was his favorite song. So what?? You gotta forget that business. If you want to win AI, you have to concentrate on finding a song that makes you sound like a star, even if it's a song you hate with all your heart!

Hehe...did I say "brief?" Oh, well.


I guess that's it for this entry.

TTFN, y'all!

3 comments so far

last ~ next

Missed anything?
The Beatles--Abbey Road/Alice Cooper--Killer - July 04, 2012
The Beatles Eponymous Album - June 26, 2012
Autism's False Prophets - February 12, 2011
Santana--Guitar God? - November 11, 2010
Tribute To the Red Sox - September 29, 2010