index
archives
profile
rings
booklist
reviews
about
links
notes
email
View my guestbook
dland
RP Designs
Rachelskirts


free hit counter

Autism Awareness Month ( - )

Hm...I see the D-land time stamp feature is currently non-working.



April is "National Autism Awareness" month. It's been a long time since I've talked about autism, so I'm going to focus a little on it this month. I thought I would provide a couple of links each day for anyone who is interested in the subject. And I might go back and review David Kirby's infamous diatribe against the CDC, FDA, and APA (American Pediatrics Association, which is notorious for opposing any funding for autism research...and these people claim to care about your children!!), Evidence of Harm.

One of the most famous organizations these days is Autism Speaks. My dear friend Catie works for them. They are champions in raising money for research, sponsoring walks in many cities across the country. I think my family is going to participate in the one in Arlington, TX, this year.

A great site to check out for info on the Thimerosal controversy is Safeminds, which was founded by one of the mothers featured in Kirby's book.

That's just a couple to start for today. Autism rages across our nation, across our world today. I know...it's the "flavor of the month" right now, and that isn't always a good thing. But it is serious, and it is affecting more and more children all the time. We need to find out why and how to fix it. Our pediatricians have thrown up their hands and decided that there is no cure and nothing can be done. This is unnaceptable. It is unforgivable. We should be storming our doctors' offices en masse, demanding some help.

*whew*

Wow. Now I'm all worked up. Seriously, I'm even breathing hard.

Well, I need to go cook chili. I'll be back tomorrow with some more links and stuff.

TTFN, y'all!

0 comments so far

last ~ next

Missed anything?
The Beatles--Abbey Road/Alice Cooper--Killer - July 04, 2012
The Beatles Eponymous Album - June 26, 2012
Autism's False Prophets - February 12, 2011
Santana--Guitar God? - November 11, 2010
Tribute To the Red Sox - September 29, 2010