index
archives
profile
rings
booklist
reviews
about
links
notes
email
View my guestbook
dland
RP Designs
Rachelskirts


free hit counter

Congratulations to David Cook! (May 22, 2008 - 12:31 a.m.)

Yeah, I know. It's been so long that no one has even looked at my diary in over a month. Heh. But I've kept up pretty regular entries in my other journal at this location.

I have been watching American Idol all season long and have refrained from commenting on it here. I figure there are enough people doing that, so the world doesn't need one more American Idol diary. But tonight was the finale, and I was very pleasantly suprised when David Cook emerged as the winner. I have liked him all season long. I have, I admit, liked Archuleta all season, as well, and he was certainly a formidable competitor. I just liked Cook better. So congratulations to David Cook. I look forward to seeing what he records and releases. I wish I could go see the concert tour when it comes to Dallas, but, alas, it is slated for a Monday night. No can do that.



The other thing I wanted to write about tonight was a very neat thing that appears to have happened in the baseball world tonight. I had logged on to the MLB website to check out the standings, and the first thing I saw was a video of Chris Young getting smacked right in the schnozzola with a line drive from Albert Pujols.

No, that's not the neat thing!!

What is neat is that, in the wackiness that ensued (with lots of blood, too, I bet Young's nose is broken), as the camera panned back, Pujols' face was clearly disturbed and concerned for Young's well-being. And then, it appeared to me that Gonzalez (the Padres first baseman) and Pujols were praying together just off the pitcher's mound on the infield grass. That really warmed my heart. It's cool for two reasons. One is that players have enough concern for one another to actually stop and pray for them. The other is that competitive division ceases for a few minutes in a crisis, as the main concern becomes waiting to see if a player is going to be ok.



I guess that's it for tonight. Gotta get back to work. I'll try to get back here more often. Maybe someone will come back to read. Heh.

TTFN, y'all!

3 comments so far

last ~ next

Missed anything?
The Beatles--Abbey Road/Alice Cooper--Killer - July 04, 2012
The Beatles Eponymous Album - June 26, 2012
Autism's False Prophets - February 12, 2011
Santana--Guitar God? - November 11, 2010
Tribute To the Red Sox - September 29, 2010