index
archives
profile
rings
booklist
reviews
about
links
notes
email
View my guestbook
dland
RP Designs
Rachelskirts


free hit counter

What?? (August 07, 2008 - 11:21 p.m.)

So I logged on tonight.

AND THERE WAS NO RED SOX GAME!!

WHO LET THAT HAPPEN???

So I watched the finale of So You Think You Can Dance with my wife. Wait...the show is not called "So You Think You Can Dance With My Wife." Maybe I should rephrase that.

Anyway, we actually watched last night's final competition and fast-forwarded through most of tonight's 2 hour finale.

We both believe the right person won. Joshua was phenomenal, and such a sweet guy. Plus he's from Fort Worth! Which we didn't realize until tonight.

On a much, much sadder note...

A family was discovered dead in their home, about two miles from where we live. Apparently, the man shot his teenage daughter and his wife, then killed himself. I heard the news this morning, and when I saw the paper after I got home from work, it showed where they lived. I immediately was fearful that this was going to wind up being someone that Stephanie knew. But no names were released until mid afternoon.

Sure enough, at about 1:30 this afternoon, Stephanie came in and woke me up to tell me the name of the 14-year old girl. She was in Stephanie's history class. She didn't know her real well, and said that she couldn't even remember ever talking to her. But still...

As we watched the news tonight, there were kids on the news, and Stephanie kept saying, "I know him," or "I know her, that's so-and-so..." She wants to go to the house tomorrow and write a message on the poster board that's hanging on the garage door. Tonight, during the 9 o'clock news, there were probably several hundred people around the house, holding a candle-light vigil.

Life is hard enough without crap like this getting thrown at you, you know?

It takes me back 34 years or so to when my best friend in the whole world killed himself one Saturday morning.

I've still have not gotten over that.

I don't expect to.

But this thing is different. I'll never, EVER understand what could possess a man to kill his family, then kill himself.

As one of my blog buddies on "blogspot" said last week...

I haz a sad.

No Ta-ta today.

2 comments so far

last ~ next

Missed anything?
The Beatles--Abbey Road/Alice Cooper--Killer - July 04, 2012
The Beatles Eponymous Album - June 26, 2012
Autism's False Prophets - February 12, 2011
Santana--Guitar God? - November 11, 2010
Tribute To the Red Sox - September 29, 2010