index
archives
profile
rings
booklist
reviews
about
links
notes
email
View my guestbook
dland
RP Designs
Rachelskirts


free hit counter

A Blessed Event! (August 12, 2008 - 9:34 a.m.)

I'm putting off my thoughts about The Dark Knight for another day to tell you about something quite remarkable that happened Sunday afternoon.

After church we all went out for lunch at a barbecue place, Christi, Steph, Rachel, Justin, and me.

Afterwords, we were at home, played a few rounds of Taboo, and were just kind of hanging out. I was about to go lay down for a nap, and Christi was outside doing something to the pool to try to make it not green. Yuck!

Justin was outside with Christi. They came back in and Christi said, "He has something to ask you!"

"Ok," I said. And waited...

He just kind of blurted out..."Can I marry her?"

O.o

(I assumed, of course that he meant Rachel...)

Aww....

It was adorable.

Of course, I said yes. With tears in my eyes.

Who does that anymore?? It was so unexpected, it just totally took me off guard.

Not they were planning to get married. That part didn't surprise me at all. It has been evident right from the start that their relationship was special.

What took me off guard was that HE ASKED MY PERMISSION!!

Wow.

Getting all teary-eyed just typing this here.

Anyway...we briefly discussed the topic for a little while (after Rachel showed back up in the room). They have no date set, of course, and hardly any details...we just talked about it a little. Not even sure where it will happen or who will perform the ceremony (we are seriously considering our youth minister, if he is licensed to do these things).

But it is official. My oldest daughter is *sniff* engaged!!

TTFN, y'all!

4 comments so far

last ~ next

Missed anything?
The Beatles--Abbey Road/Alice Cooper--Killer - July 04, 2012
The Beatles Eponymous Album - June 26, 2012
Autism's False Prophets - February 12, 2011
Santana--Guitar God? - November 11, 2010
Tribute To the Red Sox - September 29, 2010