index
archives
profile
rings
booklist
reviews
about
links
notes
email
View my guestbook
dland
RP Designs
Rachelskirts


free hit counter

A Sad Day (September 19, 2008 - 5:19 p.m.)

Today is the anniversary of the death of one of the greatest, most humble, and most Godly Christian songwriters this world has ever known.

11 years ago today, Rich Mullins died in an automobile accident.

Rich wrote the song, "Awesome God," which is still sung by many believers and churces today. He also recorded the chorus, "Step by Step," written by his good friend Beaker. That song still gives me goose bumps today.

There is a story that John Rivers of 20, The Countdown Magazine, tells of an encounter with Rich. They were in Nashville for the annual GMA awards (Gospel Music Association). John was at some big banquet, and he was looking for Rich. He finally saw him. Wearing the same outfit as the kitchen people, going around serving food to the other celebrities in the room. That was the humble spirit of Rich Mullins.

Both times that I had the privilege of seeing Rich in a concert setting, he closed out the concert with "Step by Step." Oh, and both times, he performed barefoot in blue jean shorts. As the audience worshiped while singing "Step by Step," Rich and company quietly left the stage. We opened our eyes at the end of the song to an empty stage. That was it. He never wanted the applause. He never wanted the glory. He left it all for God.

In our minds, he died too early. But in God's mind, it was just right. He wanted Rich in heaven, worshiping him in person.

I got to hug Rich Mullins once. I will never forget that. I still miss him sorely, and shed a few tears every year on this day.

I know it sounds like I'm "worshiping" Rich, but I'm not. It's just that he brought me closer to God, and still does, every time I listen to his music.

Today, I haz a sad.

Rich, I'll see you again, someday.

TTFN, y'all.

2 comments so far

last ~ next

Missed anything?
The Beatles--Abbey Road/Alice Cooper--Killer - July 04, 2012
The Beatles Eponymous Album - June 26, 2012
Autism's False Prophets - February 12, 2011
Santana--Guitar God? - November 11, 2010
Tribute To the Red Sox - September 29, 2010