index
archives
profile
rings
booklist
reviews
about
links
notes
email
View my guestbook
dland
RP Designs
Rachelskirts


free hit counter

Goodbye and Hello (November 06, 2008 - 6:16 a.m.)

First of all, I have to mourn the passing of a favorite author of mine. Michael Crichton died yesterday. Report said "after a long battle with cancer."

I didn't even know he was sick.

I'll miss him. I loved his books. I remember seeing the original Andromeda Strain movie when it first came out in the 70s. For its time, it was a pretty good movie.

Then, of course, his magnum opus, Jurassic Park. What a great book, and the movie was pretty darned good, too. In fact, it remained my all time favorite movie until last year when Sweeney Todd came out.

Another of his books that I really liked was State of Fear, which, in my opinion, addressed the global warming scam very well.

So, anyway, farewell, Michael. You will be missed.



Then I want to congratulate our new President-elect.

Barack Hussein Obama has a tough road ahead of him.

Let's just clear some things up, though.

He is not a terrorist. Just because his middle name is "Hussein" doesn't make him a terrorist any more than someone having the name "Bundy" makes them a serial killer.

He is not the Antichrist. I've really grown weary of hearing that one. And the really ironic thing about that is that most of the people who are proclaiming that he is the Antichrist are really pretty Biblically ignorant. Well, I'm not Biblically ignorant. I've read the thing from cover to cover almost 20 times in my life. Hear me now and believe me later...BARACK OBAMA IS NOT THE ANTICHRIST! Ok???

That being said, I don't agree with some of his platforms. But I didn't agree with more of McCain's. I'm not really all that excited about the idea of government controlled healthcare. Neither candidate really has a good plan for our healthcare crisis. That is because they are all "barking up the wrong tree." More insurance is not the answer. Controlling the cost of healthcare is the answer and insurance isn't going to fix that. Insurance if half of the problem. That and the frivolous lawsuits.

I'll tell you why I think McCain lost this election. His choice for VP. I believe that if he had chosen a viable candidate for VP, he might have won this election. Sarah Palin's winks and "gosh, Joe" comments backfired and, frankly, became extremely annoying. However, it may turn out that she was the best thing that ever happened to Tina Fey.

Barack Obama is our new president (or will be, come January 20). Those of us who call ourselves Christians have an obligation to respect him as our president and, most importantly, pray for him as president. He won the election because God wanted him to. For whatever reason, God has put Barack Obama in authority. And that's that.

TTFN, y'all!

2 comments so far

last ~ next

Missed anything?
The Beatles--Abbey Road/Alice Cooper--Killer - July 04, 2012
The Beatles Eponymous Album - June 26, 2012
Autism's False Prophets - February 12, 2011
Santana--Guitar God? - November 11, 2010
Tribute To the Red Sox - September 29, 2010