index
archives
profile
rings
booklist
reviews
about
links
notes
email
View my guestbook
dland
RP Designs
Rachelskirts


free hit counter

Before They Are Hanged (January 31, 2009 - 8:29 a.m.)

Yesterday, I finished reading Before They Are Hanged, by Joe Abercrombie, Book Two of The First Law Trilogy.

I thoroughly enjoyed this book, and have grown quite fond of the characters contained within. Abercrombie has, in my opinion, a unique sense of humor, which tends to take one by surprise throughout the book. He also tends to be, also my opinion, rather quotable, as evidenced by the following quotes that I recorded:

Those with the least always lose the most in war, said by San dan Glokta, Superior of Doguska.

Got to have fear to have courage, said by the Dogman to Captain West.

There was no such thing as luck. Luck was a word idiots used to explain the consequences of their own rashness, and selfishness, and stupidity. More often than not, bad luck meant bad plans. This was in the narrative, but was being thought by a character named Ferro.

Only friends get left behind. Enemies are always at your heels. Also in the narrative, in the thoughts of Logen Ninefingers.

An open mind is like to an open wound. Vulnerable to poison. Liable to fester. Apt to give its owner only pain, said by Superior Glokta to Envoy Tulkis.

Excellent lines, all of them. In case you're wondering, I carry around a little journal just to write down lines from books that I'm reading.

I know. It's weird. And I don't care.

So I'll be moving on to Last Argument of Kings, Book Three, whenever I get it.

In the meantime, I'm reading a little book called Jim and Casper Go to Church. This one's a non-fiction, and is not a children's book, in spite of the title. It's a little experiment in which a Christian former pastor, enlists an atheist to attend a number of churches around the States and rates them. Very interesting so far.

The first one they went to was the Mecca of Christianity, Rick Warren's Saddleback Church in California. It's at the corner of Saddleback Drive and Purpose Drive. I'm not making that up. (Rick Warren wrote The Purpose Driven [insert whatever noun you want here, there will probably be a book about it...the first one was Life].

Like I said, it is very interesting.

TTFN, y'all!

1 comments so far

last ~ next

Missed anything?
The Beatles--Abbey Road/Alice Cooper--Killer - July 04, 2012
The Beatles Eponymous Album - June 26, 2012
Autism's False Prophets - February 12, 2011
Santana--Guitar God? - November 11, 2010
Tribute To the Red Sox - September 29, 2010