index
archives
profile
rings
booklist
reviews
about
links
notes
email
View my guestbook
dland
RP Designs
Rachelskirts


free hit counter

Living Dead In Dallas (February 18, 2009 - 4:48 a.m.)

Ok, I lied. I couldn't help it. So I jumped right into the next Sookie Stackhouse novel.

I have read this one before, as well...probably about 6 years ago or so. But long enought that I only remembered the bare outline of the story. So it was almost like reading it for the first time.

In this book, Sookie, the Vampire Bill (her "boyfriend") and Eric (owner of Fangtasia) take on a quasi-religious group called The Fellowship of the Sun. If you watched True Blood, they were mentioned a few times on television interviews.

Sookie is hired out to the Dallas vampires by Eric (she made a promise to him in the first book) to help them find one of their brothers who had gone missing.

They discover that he is being held in captivity in the basement of a "church" owned by The Fellowship. The plan is to force him to "meet the dawn" at daybreak, along with a fellow vampire who wants to commit suicide.

Sookie and another human from Dallas sneak into the Fellowship under a guise of being interested in joining.

Wackiness ensues.

There are actually two plots going on in this book, though. Sandwiched around the Dallas plot is a murder investigation which starts the book off with a bang. The investigation is interrupted by the trip to Dallas, but is finished up at the end.

Elvis is not in this book. I miss him.

Anyway...that's all I'm going to say about the book. I don't think I've given anything away that would be considered a "spoiler."

These books are very intertaining, not terribly gory (not nearly as bloody as Laurell K. Hamilton's Anita Blake series, which I also love), and slightly romantic (I don't mind that so much because of the vampire/shapeshifter part of the story). Definitely not for the same audience as Twilight, though.

Tomorrow, I will write about what happened at Stephanie's therapist appointment Tuesday afternoon. (Suddenly, I'm hearing the Moody Blues in my head...)

TTFN, y'all!

0 comments so far

last ~ next

Missed anything?
The Beatles--Abbey Road/Alice Cooper--Killer - July 04, 2012
The Beatles Eponymous Album - June 26, 2012
Autism's False Prophets - February 12, 2011
Santana--Guitar God? - November 11, 2010
Tribute To the Red Sox - September 29, 2010