index
archives
profile
rings
booklist
reviews
about
links
notes
email
View my guestbook
dland
RP Designs
Rachelskirts


free hit counter

Life With God (February 24, 2009 - 8:23 a.m.)

This morning, I finished reading Life With God: Reading the Bible for Spiritual Transformation, by Richard J. Foster.

I really love Foster's writing. I've read Celebration of Discipline twice and his book simply called Prayer. They are both very good books.

In Life With God, Foster takes the idea of reading the Bible to a new level. He presents the idea that the reason any of us should be reading the Bible is to be spiritually transformed. It's different than Bible study, which is, of course, good, but this...this is like, well...reading a passage of Scripture (out loud, preferably, so you can "listen" to it), then reading it again, and maybe again. Then having your spirit be sensitive to what you are "hearing." After that, what you hear causes you to pray back to God, after which, the goal is to obey, or to go out and live what you have heard. This concept has a name; it is called Lectio Divina. He calls the four parts listening, reflecting, praying, and obeying. Anyone who has followed my devotional diary might know that the book I am using for that currently (almost finished with it, too), called The Message//Remix:Solo uses that Bible reading technique as well. Eugene Peterson simplifies it a little, calling the steps simply Read, Think, Pray, Live. Either way. Means the same thing.

Further into this book, Foster again talks about the disciplines and their purposes.

All in all, it's a fantastic little book, which I already feel the need to read again. I think I read it too fast. I need to "chew" on the concepts a little more.

Heheh...speaking of "chew," the next book I'm reading is by Eugene Peterson, on essentially the same subject, called Eat This Book.

TTFN, y'all!

0 comments so far

last ~ next

Missed anything?
The Beatles--Abbey Road/Alice Cooper--Killer - July 04, 2012
The Beatles Eponymous Album - June 26, 2012
Autism's False Prophets - February 12, 2011
Santana--Guitar God? - November 11, 2010
Tribute To the Red Sox - September 29, 2010