index
archives
profile
rings
booklist
reviews
about
links
notes
email
View my guestbook
dland
RP Designs
Rachelskirts


free hit counter

Book List Update and Stephanie Update (April 01, 2009 - 4:53 p.m.)

I just updated my reading list to include four more books that I finished toward the end of March and today.

The most recent was The Color of Magic by Terry Pratchett. I don't know how I went so long without reading a Discworld novel, but I'm hooked after the first one. Pratchett has my kind of humor, and I think there was a "laugh out loud" moment on almost every page of this little novel. I can't wait to get my hands on the next one.



In other news, we have been through the roller coaster with Stephanie over the past month or so, but things seemed to have settled down now. The pain in the wrists seems to be subsided. We stopped giving her the Naproxen that the doctor prescribed because (we think) it was upsetting her stomach, giving her yet another reason to miss school.

I think we have the medications evened out for now, too. When we went on vacation (I know...I haven't posted a single thing about that, other than pictures on Facebook), we had run out of the 5mg pills of Abilify that the Psych doctor had recommended. That, combined with other things, resulted in multiple meltdowns during our vacation. But when we got back, we immediately got on the phone with the nurse/practitioner at the doctor's office and got a new script for the 5mg pills to supplement the 15mg that we have two months worth left. I'm pretty sure that last sentence was a grammatical train wreck. Oh, well. Anyway, Stephanie has been great this week. Been to school all day for three straight days, and has been relatively cheerful. Still tired a lot, but in much better spirits.

We will be going to an exhibition Texas Rangers game on Saturday, and then we have tickets for Opening Day on Monday of next week. Yes, I'm letting her miss school for that. What's one more day, right?

We are trying to get in to see a DAN doctor (Defeat Autism Now), but were very disappointed today to find out that our best prospect doesn't see children over 10 years old (maybe that's only for "new" patients). The only other one in our area doesn't take insurance. Argh!!

We are also looking into trying to see a neurologist. I think it wouldn't hurt to take a look at that brain, you know?

Anyway...that's where we are. Maybe one of these days, I'll get busy and recap our vacation.

TTFN, y'all!

2 comments so far

last ~ next

Missed anything?
The Beatles--Abbey Road/Alice Cooper--Killer - July 04, 2012
The Beatles Eponymous Album - June 26, 2012
Autism's False Prophets - February 12, 2011
Santana--Guitar God? - November 11, 2010
Tribute To the Red Sox - September 29, 2010