index
archives
profile
rings
booklist
reviews
about
links
notes
email
View my guestbook
dland
RP Designs
Rachelskirts


free hit counter

1000 Books (2005-12-31 - 6:29 a.m.)

It's time to say "Goodbye" to 2005.

I can't say I will miss it much. It wasn't a great year, nor was it particularly bad. It had its moments, such as a really nice vacation for Christi and me. We travelled to northern California and spent a week on the coast to celebrate our upcoming 20th wedding anniversary (anniversary was October 12th).

We also finally got Stephie approved for "resource" in school (that's Keller ISD's way of saying "special ed"), which has made her school experience much better.

And to finish it out, today, I got to add my 1000th book to my reading list that I have kept up since April of 1974. Oddly, the 1000th book was my 14th complete reading of the Bible. I try to read it through every year, but have only managed 14 times. This year's reading was in the English Standard Version, which is, by far, my favorite version.

I only completed 46 books this year, six short of my yearly goal of averaging one book per week. I blame this on two things: 1) It took me a month to get through A Game of Thrones by George R. R. Martin; 2) World of Warcraft.

Yes, I am offically a WOW junky. How embarassing. Not really, though. The game is great fun. Rachel introduced it to me a few months ago, so I got my own copy of the game and an account. In case you don't know what WOW (World of Warcraft) is, it is a MMORPG (Massively Multi-player Online Role-Playing Game)(should that be an "an" in front of "MMORPG??"). Using their software, you log onto a server (of which there are many), create a character, and start playing at level 1. There are many "quests," some of which involve killing beasties or evil people (or good people if you play on the evil side) and the goal is to eventually make it to level 60 (perhaps even beyond, from what I hear about the upcoming expansion pack due out in June of 2006).

But, beware, young novice. This is not a game that you ever finish! No, no. You do not "win" WOW. You keep on playing, and playing, and playing (kind of like that annoying pink bunny with the bass drum)...it never ends.


I never really got into Christmas here. I can't remember everything I got for Christmas, but it was nice and we had a good time. A sampling of the best:

I got (to share with Stephanie) a DVD set of the 2004 World Series (along with the AL Championship Series in which the Red Sox made history by coming back from a 0-3 deficit to win the championship over the hated Yankees) which has 12 DVDs in it. This will be great fun to watch.

I got some cool books. Rachel gave me Stephen King's Everything's Eventual, a collection of short stories (I like anything by King) and a Concordance of the Dark Tower series (King also wrote the Dark Tower books).

Stephanie gave me a gift card to Waldenbooks, which I used to buy A Clash of Kings, by George R. R. Martin (here comes another month-long read), Blue Moon, by Laurell K. Hamilton (the next book for me in the Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter series), and a book by Christopher Golden, the name of which escapes me at the moment. Golden co-wrote Ghosts of Albion: Accursed with Amber Benson, which is an outstanding book!

I got an iRiver. "What's an iRiver?" you might ask. Well, I'll tell you. It's like an iPod, only not an iPod. It's an MP3 player. I like it a lot. I have already used it at the 24-hr fitness club. (This is part of another, future, entry.) Coupled with my membership in Yahoo! Music Unlimited, the iRiver will be a formidable entertainment tool. I forget how many songs I already have downloaded onto it, but the Yahoo! Music Engine makes it tremendously easy to do. Rachel also got an iRiver. That's kind of why I got one, too.

I got a new devotional book (just in time) called His Passion: Christ's Journey to the Resurrection. It calls itself "The most moving words ever written about the last days of Jesus' life." Authors listed on the back are St. Augustine, Martin Luther, Jonathan Edwards, Thomas a Kempis, Oswald Chambers, A. W. Tozer, Max Lucado "and others." I loves me some "old, dead theologians!" Well, except for Lucado. He's neither old, nor dead, and not much of a theologian. What he is, though, to his credit, is a clever wordcrafter, and has the ability to write some very inspirational stuff. Shallow, mostly, but inspirational.

Whoa. This entry got way longer than it was supposed to. And I need more coffee.

TTFN, boys and girls. See you next year.

0 comments so far

last ~ next

Missed anything?
The Beatles--Abbey Road/Alice Cooper--Killer - July 04, 2012
The Beatles Eponymous Album - June 26, 2012
Autism's False Prophets - February 12, 2011
Santana--Guitar God? - November 11, 2010
Tribute To the Red Sox - September 29, 2010