index
archives
profile
rings
booklist
reviews
about
links
notes
email
View my guestbook
dland
RP Designs
Rachelskirts


free hit counter

Memories, Like the Corners of My Mind (June 24, 2010 - 6:39 a.m.)

I'm trying to make myself get on this journal at least every other day. That way, I have to think of something to write, which, in my opinion, exercises my brain "muscles."

Whatever was wrong with me Monday, I got over it by Tuesday morning. And I've felt fine ever since.

I got a call yesterday from one of the places to which I applied for work. It actually surprised me. I've put in somewhere in the neighborhood of 50 applications in the last several weeks, and not heard a thing from any of them, so this call really caught me off guard. Anyway, I spoke for about 5 minutes with a guy who sounded delightfully like "Mr. Nigel-Murray" on Bones, after which he scheduled me for an interview on Monday at 1pm.

I have this problem, though, that I really need to work on. I tend to be a bit self-deprecating. When my wife got home, I said, "I wonder why they want to interview ME?" I think she almost hit me. She pointed out to me that I could do almost everything that was listed in their job posting. And the few things that aren't in my arsenal, I can learn pretty quickly. I'm just nervous, is all. Again...it's been FIFTEEN YEARS since I've had to do this "job hunt/interview" thing. So I'm not used to "selling myself," something I was never very good at, anyway.



Today should be a fun day. After Steph has "Champ Camp" today, we will grab some lunch and then head over to the museum district to meet up with our pastor/shepherd (also a good friend) and his kids. He has a pass for the local science and history museum, which is good for five people, so he invited us to go along. I haven't been to this museum in years, and they have renovated it. It was always a fun place, even for a grown-up (not that I know what one of those is from experience), and it has a planetarium and the Omni Theater.

Which of course brings back one of the most pleasant memories of my life. I recall a night in December, 1984. December 7th, in fact, a Friday night. We had just finished out "TGIF" bowling league for the evening, and this girl and I decided to go to the "Laser Magic" show at the planetarium at that museum. This girl had marched up to me earlier that night and proclaimed "______ and I broke up for good!" That was our first "date," and "this girl" has been my wife for almost 25 years.

I love you so very much, my darling!

*sniff*
*ahem*

I guess that's it for today.

TTFN, y'all!

0 comments so far

last ~ next

Missed anything?
The Beatles--Abbey Road/Alice Cooper--Killer - July 04, 2012
The Beatles Eponymous Album - June 26, 2012
Autism's False Prophets - February 12, 2011
Santana--Guitar God? - November 11, 2010
Tribute To the Red Sox - September 29, 2010