index
archives
profile
rings
booklist
reviews
about
links
notes
email
View my guestbook
dland
RP Designs
Rachelskirts


free hit counter

Happy New Year (2007-01-01 - 10:20 a.m.)

Huzzah!!!

It's 2007!!

Anyone feel any different? I didn't think so.

Sometime this year, I'm going to change this template. Mind you, I still love Spike and Drusilla (in fact, we just watched one of the best Angel episodes ever Saturday where Drusilla comes back and is reunited with the newly re-vamped Darla for quite a night of carnage....Juliet Landau absolutely ROCKS as Drusilla!), but it just doesn't reflect where I'm trying to go with this diary anymore. And Buffy has been over for three or four years now, so I guess it's time to move on.

Anyway....HAPPY NEW YEAR to all of you! I wish you the best of everything in 2007 (can anyone believe that it's actually 2007....where's my freakin' Jetson's car??)

The preacher at our church yesterday gave us a quest. Anyone out there who knows how addicted I am to World of Warcraft would know how delighted I was that he actually gave us a sheet of paper entitled "Quest For the New Year." I looked at it and said "He gave us a quest!!" Heehee....

So....no resolutions. I don't believe in those. But I will share this quest, and I'm posting it on my refrigerator and taking a copy to work with me. This is my quest for 2007...

1. Keep a guard on your tongue; always say less than you think, and remember, how you say something often counts more than what you say.

2. Make promises sparingly, and keep them faithfully, no matter what it costs you.

3. When the opportunity arises to say a kind and encouraging word to or about somebody, say it. Praise good work. Criticize helpfully and softly, never spitefully.

4. Show interest in other people's pursuits, their welfare, their home and families. Celebrate with those who rejoice. Cry with those who weep. Let everyone you meet, however humble he/she might be, feel a sense of worth and importance.

5. Be cheerful. Keep the corners of your mouth turned up. Learn to set aside your pains, worries and disappointments in favor of healthy laughter. Laugh at good stories and learn to tell them.

6. Preserve an open mind on all debatable questions/issues. Discuss, but do not argue. It is a mark of maturity to disagree and yet be friendly.

7. Let your virtues speak for themselves. Don't brag. Don't gossip. Refuse to talk about someone else's vices. Make it a rule to say nothing of another unless it is something good.

8. Be careful of another's feelings. Wit and humor at the other person's expense are rarely worth the effort, and may hurt where least expected.

9. Pay no attention to ill-natured remarks about you. Simply live so that nobody will believe them.

10. Don't be overly anxious about your duties. Do your work, as good as you know how, be patient and keep your disposition sweet. Forget self, and you'll be rewarded.

This is a great list of things to "quest" for in 2007. And did you notice that there is absolutely no reference to religion in this list? So...this is good for anyone...even the atheists among us.

So, once again, Happy New Year to you. I wish success for all my "buddies" in their hopes for this new year. I've read some good stuff from you all this morning.

See you soon.

TTFN, y'all.

0 comments so far

last ~ next

Missed anything?
The Beatles--Abbey Road/Alice Cooper--Killer - July 04, 2012
The Beatles Eponymous Album - June 26, 2012
Autism's False Prophets - February 12, 2011
Santana--Guitar God? - November 11, 2010
Tribute To the Red Sox - September 29, 2010