index
archives
profile
rings
booklist
reviews
about
links
notes
email
View my guestbook
dland
RP Designs
Rachelskirts


free hit counter

Hot Plastic (2004-06-25 - 8:33 a.m.)

I know I promised an entry about the Atkins Diet, but that will have to wait.

First, a bit of startling news. Eric Clapton raised over $7,000,000 for his Crossroads Center at an auction this week. He auctioned a number of his guitars and others donated by various people. Notably, his old black Stratocaster, appropriately named "Blackie," (Rachel and I saw this and others at the Crossroads Guitar Festival earlier this month) was expected to bring in $100,000-$150,000. It sold for (are you sitting down??) $959,000!!! My God!

His cherry-red Gibson ES-335 sold for $847,000.

Another Strat, called "Lenny" by Stevie Ray Vaughan (he played it up until his death), was donated by Stevie's brother Jimmie. It sold for $632,500.

I think they got people drunk before they started bidding.


Now, on to the book review.

Hot Plastic, by Peter Craig, is a pretty good read.

The reader follows the escapades of Jerry and his son Kevin (or whatever names they happen to be using today) as the scam their way across the country and out of it, as well. They meet up with a girl who calls herself "Colette." We later learn that her real name is "Elizabeth." I think. Colette, it turns out, is a better con artist that both Jerry and Kevin.

They begin to work together, cooperating and double-crossing each other all at the same time. It gets humorous eventually, as we try to figure out what's going on and who's double-crossing who.

I really enjoyed the book, which moves rather quickly. I also thoroughly enjoyed the VERY surprise twist at the end. It totally caught me by surprise. I highly recommend the book.


Currently reading: Death Masks by Jim Butcher

Currently, Launch is playing "Unwell," by Matchbox 20.


It's Friday, and I'm on vacation next week.

0 comments so far

last ~ next

Missed anything?
The Beatles--Abbey Road/Alice Cooper--Killer - July 04, 2012
The Beatles Eponymous Album - June 26, 2012
Autism's False Prophets - February 12, 2011
Santana--Guitar God? - November 11, 2010
Tribute To the Red Sox - September 29, 2010