index
archives
profile
rings
booklist
reviews
about
links
notes
email
View my guestbook
dland
RP Designs
Rachelskirts


free hit counter

Friday Five (2003-08-31 - 8:28 a.m.)

I have been reminded of that Friday Five thingy. I had said that I was going to do those and then promptly forgot about them. Why answer those seemingly random five questions each week? Because it gives me something to write about, that's why!! And somebody, somewhere might accidentally read it. So there.

I know it's Sunday, but here it is anyway.

1. Are you going to school this year? No. I have grand designs to someday return to school for a Master of Library Science and become a librarian. But not yet.

2. If yes, where are you going? If no, when did you graduate? I graduated from Mineral Wells High School in 1976 (yes, I'm old)(NO, I'M NOT!!!). I graduated from East Texas State University with a Bachelor of Music Education (now called Texas A&M at Commerce...sigh) in 1980. I graduated from Southwestern Baptist Theological Seminary with a Masters in Music in December 1984. 21 straight years of school! Egad!

3. What are/were your favorite school subjects? Well, anything to do with music. Band, theory, and as I worked through seminary, Music and worship, Hymnology. I actually loved Biology in HS, but I almost flunked the section on genetics.

4. What are/were your least favorite school subjects? Algebra, Geometry (actually anything to do with math!), anything to do with Geography or History (until I got to seminary and began studying history in light of the development of the church) including government, English (except in my sophomore year because my English teacher was preeeetttttyyyy!).

5. Have you ever had a favorite teacher? Why was he/she a favorite? I always had a favorite teacher. In HS, it was probably Mr. Scharnberg, the Chemistry/Physics teacher. Those classes were horribley difficult for me, but I loved the old guy. He died on the golf course when I was in college. What a way to go! He just sat down on one of the benches and kind of slumped over. I cried. Sheesh. I'm crying now! Ahem.

In College, my favorite teacher was, of course, my trombone teacher, Neill Humfeld. He was the greatest! He knew how to get the best out of anyone and was never intimidating. Always gentle (unless you flat hadn't practiced). He died when I was in seminary. I went to a memorial service where a large group of his students tried to play together in a big trombone choir. I didn't even try. I don't think a single player made it through the whole concert without having to stop and cry for a minute. The man was well-loved.

In seminary, my favorite teacher was Bruce Leafblad. He didn't even get there until my last year. He taught courses on music and worship. He taught courses on prayer. I learned things about worship from him that are still with me today. He is brilliant and a very godly man. People still speak highly of him over at that school.

There. Done. I gotta go get ready for church. Tomorrow is a holiday! Yay. NO work. NO school. Hoo Ahh!!

0 comments so far

last ~ next

Missed anything?
The Beatles--Abbey Road/Alice Cooper--Killer - July 04, 2012
The Beatles Eponymous Album - June 26, 2012
Autism's False Prophets - February 12, 2011
Santana--Guitar God? - November 11, 2010
Tribute To the Red Sox - September 29, 2010