index
archives
profile
rings
booklist
reviews
about
links
notes
email
View my guestbook
dland
RP Designs
Rachelskirts


free hit counter

Open house and birthdays (2003-08-19 - 4:50 p.m.)

We had open house at Central High School last night, Rachel's school. It was really cool. We got to meet all of her teachers (all four of them) and actually went through a little "mini" school schedule. I embarassed Rachel, though, because I took a camera. She claims I was the only one there with a camera, but I swear I saw another flash somewhere. Point is, mostly, I was just trying out our new camera. But, the school is very pretty, and hopefully, I got some good pictures.

The school teams will be the Chargers. I'm not sure what that is. The ubiquitous symbol seems to be a lightning bolt, so I guess it's a "charge" of electricity.

Her mom and I thought that the symbol should be a credit card. Har.

________________________________

Today is Stephanie's *whoa* (Christi just stuck a finger full of chocolate buttercreme icing in my mouth...hold on a minute while I regain my composure...)Ok...where was I?

Today is Stephanie's birthday. She turns double digits today. Big 10! Doesn't seem possible. Doesn't seem possible that Rachel could be in high school either, and if I don't stop this right now, I will be down a path of weepy remembrance and I don't want to go there right now! So there. Anyway, we are about to go out for dinner with Grandmother and Don. Stephanie got a new bike just a while ago. It's cool. Looks huge to me!

____________________________________

Reading in Matthew this afternoon. Chapter 11, beginning in verse 28. It's a familiar passage, but it sounds really different in The Message. �Are you tired? Worn out? Burned out on religion? Come to me. Get away with me and you�ll recover your life. I�ll show you how to take a real rest. Walk with me and work with me--watch how I do it. Learn the unforced rhythms of grace. I won�t lay anything heavy or ill-fitting on you. Keep company with me and you�ll learn to live freely and lightly.�

"Anything that disturbs rest in Him must be cured at once, and it is not cured by being ignored, but by coming to Jesus Christ."--Oswald Chambers

What is the work that Jesus has left us to do? It is different for all of us. I have a different job than you. But, at the same time, we all have the same job. That job is to glorify the Lord. It is to "love the Lord your God with all your heart, soul, mind and strength." Let us be doing that. If He returns, will He find us faithful?

0 comments so far

last ~ next

Missed anything?
The Beatles--Abbey Road/Alice Cooper--Killer - July 04, 2012
The Beatles Eponymous Album - June 26, 2012
Autism's False Prophets - February 12, 2011
Santana--Guitar God? - November 11, 2010
Tribute To the Red Sox - September 29, 2010