index
archives
profile
rings
booklist
reviews
about
links
notes
email
View my guestbook
dland
RP Designs
Rachelskirts


free hit counter

Abram Pitched His Tent (2007-01-06 - 11:54 a.m.)

Apparently my counter has stopped working. Weird. One day I noticed it said "1." Then I noticed that everytime I log on, it says "1." Hmmm...


It's kind of unusual, but today, my Bible reading passage in the Old Testament corresponded to the reading in My Utmost For His Highest. It's all about Abram pitching his tent halfway between Ai and Sodom. Abram gave his nephew Lot (who really shouldn't have even been with him...Abram was told to leave everything behind...) the choice, and Lot chose what appeared to be the riches part of the land. We see where that got him.

Anyway, the point of the reading by Chambers is that in order to have any effect on our world, we have to have "profound communion" with God. There is the symbolism in the place where Abram pitched his tent. Right in the middle between the two.

We can't stay in our most awesome times of communion with God all the time. We must go out in the world and do whatever it is he has given us to do. However, Chambers says it very well when he says, There are not three stages in spiritual life--worship, waiting and work. Some of us go in jumps like spiritual frogs, we jump from worship to waiting, and from waiting to work. God's idea is that the three should go together. They were always together in the life of our Lord. He was unhasting and unresting.

"Unhasting and unresting." That's pretty profound. I think I'm spending too much time resting. Then I have to "haste."

Oh, and Chambers' definition of worship: Worship is giving God the best that He has given you. Matt Redman must have been reading this when he wrote "Blessed Be Your Name." There is a line in the song that says, Every blessing you pour out I'll turn back to praise.

We would do well to be more like that.

Find a blessing. No matter how bad things seem to be right now, find a blessing. Then lift it up to God, who cares immensely about you, in praise.

TTFN, y'all!


Ok. That's not funny. I just went to my diary page to check my spelling, etc. And the counter is back to over 6500. Pft. Make a fool out of me, will you?? Rawr!!

0 comments so far

last ~ next

Missed anything?
The Beatles--Abbey Road/Alice Cooper--Killer - July 04, 2012
The Beatles Eponymous Album - June 26, 2012
Autism's False Prophets - February 12, 2011
Santana--Guitar God? - November 11, 2010
Tribute To the Red Sox - September 29, 2010