index
archives
profile
rings
booklist
reviews
about
links
notes
email
View my guestbook
dland
RP Designs
Rachelskirts


free hit counter

blinking with fists (2004-12-07 - 4:49 p.m.)

Truly amazed, I am.

I'm sitting here looking at this book that I got from our local library. (Libraries are great places, boys and girls. Free books! All kinds of books! Use the library! Read, read, read!)

It's called blinking with fists. It's a book of poems. By Billy Corgan.

Yes, you read that right. Billy Corgan. The guy from The Smashing Pumpkins. Poetry.

Now, normally, not being a big fan of the Pumpkins, I would not give this guy the time it would take to even read his name. However, I was intrigued.

After reading the opening statement by the author, I am even more intrigued. I will quote it in its entirety.

"I would like to extend my eternal gratitude to those souls who have touched my heart, of whom for me there have been many. I have known many teachers along the way, and few loves, but all of them are here with me. All credit is placed in the arms of God, who thought this whole deal up. God blesses me every day with the greatest of wonders, and points me well into light and shadow alike. I can't say I mind too much." (I added the italics myself.)

Does this sound like the permanently angry young man who fronted The Smashing Pumpkins? I thought Billy Corgan hated God. I decided to read further.

I haven't finished the book yet (probably will within a day or two, as it is brief), but the poems are very thoughtful and, as far as I can tell, not being a poet or a poetic critic, quite well written. I can't say that I "get" them all, but does anyone? In one called "half-light, half-life," he speaks of the "shadow of God's grace," and faith following faith.

Sounds like something quite positive has happened in the life of the one who sang "cut that little child" so many years ago.

Next, a brief review of the work of Charlaine Harris.

TTFN...

0 comments so far

last ~ next

Missed anything?
The Beatles--Abbey Road/Alice Cooper--Killer - July 04, 2012
The Beatles Eponymous Album - June 26, 2012
Autism's False Prophets - February 12, 2011
Santana--Guitar God? - November 11, 2010
Tribute To the Red Sox - September 29, 2010