index
archives
profile
rings
booklist
reviews
about
links
notes
email
View my guestbook
dland
RP Designs
Rachelskirts


free hit counter

Too much rambling (2004-01-04 - 8:03 a.m.)

Sunday morning. I think we might all live! Even Stephanie ate some soup yesterday and kept it down. Rachel actually was able to eat a Subway sandwich with Christi and me! Things are really looking up (as opposed to down in the commode).

Sorry.

I couldn't help it.

Yesterday, we didn't do much. We watched E! channel's stupid "101 Celebrity Oops!" (Shouldn't that have been "Oops's?") Where in the heck were the Dixie Chicks??? They weren't even in the list, much less in the top 5 like they should have been! And Michael Jackson??? C'mon!!! I would think that dangling a baby from a balcony would be a top celebrity "oops!" not to mention fondling young teenage boys. If he really did that. Who knows?

That brings up another problem. We try these things in our own minds, regardless of evidence. I'm probably one of the 10 people left in this country that doesn't think O.J. did it. There's no way. But people don't care about the evidence.

The whole Kobe Bryant thing is a sham! There is no real evidence that he raped anybody. Just one girl's testimony. No one should ever be able to be convicted on one person's testimony! That's a travesty of justice. Kobe made a bad judgment, yes. He cheated on his wife, yes. But did he rape? I don't think so. I think some poor girl made a bad decision and is trying to back out on it and make him look like the bad guy.

As for Michael? I don't know. He creeps me out, anyway, and he does seem to have an unwholesome fascination with young boys. That's creepy. But let's try to follow our constitution, here. We are supposed to be "innocent until proven guilty." All of us.

*climbs off soapbox, dusts self off*

*Ahem* Sorry.

Now for some Bible stuff.

Yesterday, I was reading the selection from My Utmost for His Highest and the main verse was Psalm 97:2. I love this verse. It says, "Clouds and thick darkness are all around him." Who is "him?" Verse 1 tells us. It is "the LORD" who "reigns, let the earth rejoice; let the many coastlands be glad!"

Anyone who tries to tell you that the teachings of Jesus are easy and simple hasn't really encountered him. Because when you truly encounter Jesus, you discover the darkness of understanding who he really is. Now this is a different kind of darkness than that associated with sin, obviously. This is more like a myst of the unknown. "The only possibility of understanding the teaching of Jesus is by the light of the Spirit of God on the inside. If we have never had the experience of taking our commonplace religious shoes off our commonplace religious feet, and getting rid of all the undue familiarity with which we approach God, it is questionable whether we have ever stood in His presence. The people who are flippant and familiar are those who have never yet been introduced to Jesus Christ. After the amazing delight and liberty of realizing what Jesus Christ does, comes the impenetrable darkness of realizing Who He is." (Italics mine.)

If I spend my life quenching that light, I will never understand. That is why, as I wrote yesterday, I must be continually revising my attitude towards God, and never get in a place where I am too comfortable.

Grace, y'all!

0 comments so far

last ~ next

Missed anything?
The Beatles--Abbey Road/Alice Cooper--Killer - July 04, 2012
The Beatles Eponymous Album - June 26, 2012
Autism's False Prophets - February 12, 2011
Santana--Guitar God? - November 11, 2010
Tribute To the Red Sox - September 29, 2010