index
archives
profile
rings
booklist
reviews
about
links
notes
email
View my guestbook
dland
RP Designs
Rachelskirts


free hit counter

Dennis Jernigan (2004-08-02 - 8:22 a.m.)

I was going to work out this morning, but I'm just too tired. Monday mornings are tough for me.

For those who don't know, I work the graveyard shift ("Hi, Dee"). Oh, yeah. She doesn't do that anymore, does she? Oh, well.

Anyway, I don't get a whole lot of sleep on Sundays because of the church thing and all. I'm a worship leader (read my profile), so I kind of "work" on Sundays. Not exactly what I would call work, mind you. The preparation is more work than the actual, um, performance. I really hate to use that word in reference to a worship service, because it really isn't "performing," but in some ways, I guess it could be considered that.

Anyway, I get about 2 hours of sleep during the afternoons after church, then I get up and do stuff with the family, then go back to sleep when they do for about an hour. So when I get home on Monday morning, I am zonked. Zonker? Zonker Harris?

Ahem.


Last night, Christi and Stephanie and I went to see Dennis Jernigan at Bethesda Community Church. It was truly wonderful. Rachel didn't go. She doesn't like DJ any more. She might if Stephanie didn't idolize him so.

DJ sang all of our favorites, and...by the way...for those who don't know, when you go to see Dennis Jernigan in "concert," it's not really a "concert." You get a full-blown worship service that lasts at least 2 hours and has *gasp* NO PREACHING!! Didn't know you could do that, didja? All your preachers don't want you to know that you can have a worship service WITHOUT PREACHING! Anyway, I really needed what I got last night. It was a great "fill-up" for me. I think that sometimes when you lead all the time, you start to get empty and need to be "fed" for a change. Well, DJ fed me some prime rib last night.


Speaking of worship, I have stumbled across the most unbelievable website I think I have ever seen. Check out this site. Click around and see what you find. This guy is insane. He makes the normal Church of Christ look like Southern Baptists. In fact, do me a favor. Email the guy and let him know how crazy he is. I don't think I have ever seen such perverted theology in all my life. Not that claims to be Christian, anyway. I've seen some crazy theology, but it usually is Unification or Mormon or something like that.


One last thing. I forgot to add my link in my last entry. I will link this at least until the election is over. Click on this: Stupid White Man!

Ok.

That's all.

Still reading Wicked. No real opinion yet. So far, it's ok. Apparently, the Wicked Witch of the West's mother was a real slut, though.

0 comments so far

last ~ next

Missed anything?
The Beatles--Abbey Road/Alice Cooper--Killer - July 04, 2012
The Beatles Eponymous Album - June 26, 2012
Autism's False Prophets - February 12, 2011
Santana--Guitar God? - November 11, 2010
Tribute To the Red Sox - September 29, 2010