index
archives
profile
rings
booklist
reviews
about
links
notes
email
View my guestbook
dland
RP Designs
Rachelskirts


free hit counter

Do You Feel Like I Do? (2004-03-02 - 6:06 p.m.)

Which I did not do because I skipped a day. (If that doesn�t make any sense, go back and read the entry immediately before this one.)(Make that two before this one...I forgot about the personality quiz.)

This is one of those days that I really don�t feel like doing this. I mean the devotional thing. Does that surprise anyone? It shouldn�t. I don�t try to write in such a way as to sound �ultra-spiritual,� because I�m not. If anyone gets that impression from my writing, I�m sorry. I�m really not that way. I�m about as real as it gets. I have lots of high aspirations, and I think a lot about matters of faith and theology. Sometimes, I have a lot of trouble translating those thoughts into daily living. And there are days, like today, where I just don�t feel like doing it. No particular reason that I can think of. Just don�t feel like it.

So I�m doing it anyway. Because it�s days like this that I need it most. Or should I say that it�s days like this that I need HIM most.

Besides, I�m already one day behind.


How much do I love Jesus? Do I love Him enough to allow Him to hurt me with questions such as those He asked Peter in John 21? Oswald Chambers writes about this event in the past two days in My Utmost for His Highest. The questions of Jesus hurt us to a point deeper than any confession or profession can reach. It is only at this point that we can truly comprehend how much we truly do love Christ. There are times when I am not sure if I love Him at all. Then there are times, which I have discussed repeatedly, when I am certain that I do not know how to love.


I had already noted in the Daily Bible reading in Leviticus 26 that God is promising most wonderful things for obedience. But then he turns around and promises very horrible things for disobedience. In fact, the disobedience list goes a bit longer, it seems. At one point, He says, �I will chastise you seven times for your sins,� going on to even promise �you shall eat the flesh of your sons.� Ok. I�m voting for obedience.


That�s pretty much it for today. I will mention that I am being driven quite mad by the constant barrage of recorder practice coming from the living room this afternoon. You know�the recorder? That demonic �musical� instrument that all 4th graders are destined to learn? If I hear �Hot Cross Buns� or �Merrily We Roll Along� one more time, I think I might�AAAAAAUUUUUUGGGGGGHHHHHH!!!!


Ok, one last thing. I just saw some pictures of Muslim parents CUTTING their babies with SWORDS in honor of some religious holiday. Can you imagine what would happen if someone in our country tried to do that? Anyone still want to claim that Muslim is a �peaceful� religion? Just take a look at this.

0 comments so far

last ~ next

Missed anything?
The Beatles--Abbey Road/Alice Cooper--Killer - July 04, 2012
The Beatles Eponymous Album - June 26, 2012
Autism's False Prophets - February 12, 2011
Santana--Guitar God? - November 11, 2010
Tribute To the Red Sox - September 29, 2010