index
archives
profile
rings
booklist
reviews
about
links
notes
email
View my guestbook
dland
RP Designs
Rachelskirts


free hit counter

Leap Day (2004-02-29 - 8:36 a.m.)

It�s �Leap Day,� 2004. This is also a rare occasion. It is a fifth Sunday in February. This can only happen during a leap year, and can only happen when the first day of February falls on a Sunday as well. Oddly enough, it happens every 28 years. The last time this happened was in 1976, the year I graduated from High School.

In only 6 days, we will be preparing to get on a plane to fly to Long Beach, California. We are so excited, filled with anticipation over this vacation. I have said several times that there is probably something very wrong with how much I am looking forward to it. I don�t think I�ll be disappointed. I also think that Rachel will literally fall in love with California. She keeps reminding me that she loves anywhere that isn�t Texas. But this is more than just �not Texas.� This is California. I don�t think I could live there (although I might be willing to give it a shot), but it is a great place to vacation. I prefer it very much over Florida. However, it is a neck and neck tie between California and Maine.


Wow. My Utmost for His Highest even has a reading for February 29. It is called, �What Do You Want the Lord to Do for You?� He begins with a question, �What is the thing that not only disturbs you but makes you a disturbance?� In this case, he is referring to the blind man who heard that Jesus was coming and shouted out to Him as He walked towards him. People tried to shut him up, but he cried out even louder. �Persist in the disturbance until you get face to face with the Lord Himself; do not deify common sense.� Do not deify common sense! How many times have we heard it said, �Well, common sense says�� Read the Old Testament and see how much �common sense� you find in there! When Christ asks what we want Him to do for us, we too often �limit� Him (I use that term loosely, because we cannot actually �limit� God from doing anything!) by remembering what we have �allowed� Him to do in the past. �If it is an impossibility, it is the thing we have to ask.�

�The most impossible thing to you is that you should be so identified with the Lord that there is nothing of the old life left.� This is a true statement. That seems so impossible to me, because there is too much of the old life left. �But you have to come to the place where you believe Him to be Almighty. Faith is not in what Jesus says but in Himself; if we only look at what He says we shall never believe.�


In Leviticus 26, God promises marvelous things if Israel obeys Him. Then He promises horrible things if they don�t. One of the most terrible being in verse 17, �I will set My face against you.� I can think of no more horrendous thing than having the Lord�s face set against me.

I just realized I�m reading the reading for March 1. Apparently, the editors of this Daily Bible elected to not include a reading for leap years. Therefore, I will finish this reading tomorrow.

0 comments so far

last ~ next

Missed anything?
The Beatles--Abbey Road/Alice Cooper--Killer - July 04, 2012
The Beatles Eponymous Album - June 26, 2012
Autism's False Prophets - February 12, 2011
Santana--Guitar God? - November 11, 2010
Tribute To the Red Sox - September 29, 2010