index
archives
profile
rings
booklist
reviews
about
links
notes
email
View my guestbook
dland
RP Designs
Rachelskirts


free hit counter

Faith and "Going Out" (2007-01-02 - 5:28 p.m.)

There are several things I have begun anew this year.

One is, sigh, yet another "diet." This time, I'm afraid my life may depend upon it. I've let myself be overweight for far too long, and my health is suffering for it.

I lost almost 4 pounds on the first day, though, so /cheer!

The other thing is I decided to read Oswald Chambers's My Utmost For His Highest again this year. It is one of the best devotional books I have ever read, and every day something stirs me deeply.

Today, for instance, was no exception. Here's a quote from today's selection.

Continually revise your attitude towards God and see it if is a going out of everything, trusting in God entirely. It is this attitude that keeps you in perpetual wonder--you do not know what God is going to do next.

Let the attitude of the life be a continual "going out" in dependence upon God, and your life will have an ineffable charm about it which is a satisfation to Jesus. You have to learn to go out of convictions, out of creeds, out of experiences, until so far as your faith is concerned, there is nothing between yourself and God.

See? Good Stuff!! And such a challenge for my life. Also, I believe, a very appropriate selection for the beginning of a year. Smart editors, I guess...

That's it for today...gotta go cook supper. Chicken, bell peppers, onions, and mushrooms over rice. Mmmm, good!

Oh. Wait. Can I say that? Will Campbell's sue me?

TTFN, y'all

0 comments so far

last ~ next

Missed anything?
The Beatles--Abbey Road/Alice Cooper--Killer - July 04, 2012
The Beatles Eponymous Album - June 26, 2012
Autism's False Prophets - February 12, 2011
Santana--Guitar God? - November 11, 2010
Tribute To the Red Sox - September 29, 2010