index
archives
profile
rings
booklist
reviews
about
links
notes
email
View my guestbook
dland
RP Designs
Rachelskirts


free hit counter

I Am Thine, O Lord (2005-03-15 - 10:26 a.m.)

U2 can wait another day.


I remember asking my Grandmama one day what her favorite hymn was. If my memory serves me (and it frequently does not), she said "I Am Thine, O Lord." So, in her honor, here it is.


I AM THINE, O LORD

I am Thine, O Lord, I have heard Thy voice,
And it told Thy love to me;
But I long to rise in the arms of faith,
And be closer drawn to Thee.

(Chorus)
Draw me nearer, nearer, blessed Lord,
To the cross where Thou hast died;
Draw me nearer, nearer, nearer, blessed Lord,
To Thy precious, bleeding side.

Consecrate me now to Thy service, Lord,
By the pow'r of grace divine;
Let my soul look up with a steadfast hope,
And my will be lost in Thine.

(Repeat Chorus)

O the pure delight of a single hour
That before Thy throne I spend;
When I kneel in pray'r, and with Thee, my God,
I commune as friend with friend!

(Repeat Chorus)

There are depths of love that I cannot know
till I cross the narrow sea;
There are heights of joy that I may not reach
till I rest in peace with Thee.

(Repeat Chorus)


Wow. No wonder it was her favorite. I have not read the words to that hymn in a long, long time. I think we will sing that this Sunday.

Grandmama now knows the depths of that love and has reached the heights of that joy.

I am envious. And in this case, I don't believe that this envy is sinful.

0 comments so far

last ~ next

Missed anything?
The Beatles--Abbey Road/Alice Cooper--Killer - July 04, 2012
The Beatles Eponymous Album - June 26, 2012
Autism's False Prophets - February 12, 2011
Santana--Guitar God? - November 11, 2010
Tribute To the Red Sox - September 29, 2010