index
archives
profile
rings
booklist
reviews
about
links
notes
email
View my guestbook
dland
RP Designs
Rachelskirts


free hit counter

Please Come to Boston For Some Baseball (2007-02-09 - 9:23 p.m.)

Wow. Has it really been 25 days since I last updated??

There's so much on my mind, that I don't know where to start.

So, tonight, I will write about the thing that has me the most excited. Perhaps more than I have ever been in my whole life.

What marvelous thing has happened that has me so excited? Is it a spiritual thing? I guess you could call it that, although there might only be one of my handful of readers that might think that.

Is it a miracle? I believe so. (You will all call me silly, I know.)

Here it is.

That, my friends, is three tickets to Fenway Park to see the Red Sox play the Texas Rangers on July 2, 2007!

Yes, I have them. And we got them from the Red Sox web site the day they went on sale, for $12 apiece.

And only 10 hours in the "virtual waiting room."

Now, if you've never experienced the "virtual waiting room," let me tell you about it.

My wife and other daughter both logged in at 9am Saturday morning, January 27. Stephie and I were at the Fanfest at Ameriquest Field in Arlington, and my wife graciously agreed to begin the attempt to buy tickets for us. Little did we know what we were in for.

Promptly, at 9am, both were put in this "virtual waiting room," where they were told that the screen would refresh every 30 seconds, and that people were chosen totally at random to move to a screen where tickets could be purchased.

There were semi-frequent updates as to games that were sold out or only had scattered single seats left.

Stephie and I got home from the Fanfest around 2pm and I promptly got on this computer to join the fracas.

I printed those tickets at 6:34, nine and half hours after the process started. These seats are in upper grandstands, in right-center field, close to the roof. But I don't care, because

I'M GOING TO FENWAY PARK!!!!!!

So we got those three tickets for $36 plus fees.

In the meantime, we kind of panicked and went to other avenues of ticket purchase, such as ebay. So we also bought four seats out in right field, 5 rows from the field. $500 for those. Yeah, I know. But, hey, for all seven, we actually paid less than $100 a ticket. So I'm ok with that. Plus, I don't care, because...Ok, I won't type again...just look up two paragraphs.

Friends, think me silly, that's ok. But this is a lifelong dream of mine that is coming to pass this July. No one on earth with the possible exception of my father knows how much this means to me. The only possible thing that could make it better would be to run face to face into Carl Yastrzemski while I'm there.

I would have put a picture of those tickets, but I don't have them yet.

There will be plenty of pictures when I get back...I'll post them on flickr.

Oh. One more thing. While at the Fanfest in Arlington, I unexpectedly ran into this guy.

Who is that? None other than the great Ferguson Jenkins. Hall of Fame pitcher, and one-time pitcher for the Rangers. What a treat! Got his autograph on a ball.

It was a great day.

TTFN, y'all.

0 comments so far

last ~ next

Missed anything?
The Beatles--Abbey Road/Alice Cooper--Killer - July 04, 2012
The Beatles Eponymous Album - June 26, 2012
Autism's False Prophets - February 12, 2011
Santana--Guitar God? - November 11, 2010
Tribute To the Red Sox - September 29, 2010