index
archives
profile
rings
booklist
reviews
about
links
notes
email
View my guestbook
dland
RP Designs
Rachelskirts


free hit counter

God or Stuff?? (2006-01-07 - 9:47 a.m.)

Every year, around this time, I find myself faced with the same struggle.

Do I have too much "stuff?"

Today, it's brought on by my daily reading in the Bible. Once again, I'm setting out to read the whole thing this year (really not that difficult, it can be done in 15 minutes a day, or less, depending on how fast you read).

So, today, the New Testament reading is in Matthew 6, right in the middle of the "Sermon on the Mount."

"Do not lay up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moth and rust destroy and where thieves break in and steal, but lay up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where neither moth nor rust destroys and where thieves do not break in and steal. For where your treasure is, there you heart will be also." Later, Jesus says, "No one can serve two masters, for either he will hate the one and love the other, or he will be devoted to the one and despise the other. You cannot serve God and money." For "money," the Greek text uses the word "mammon," which (according to my handy study notes) is a Semitic word for "money or possessions."

Ok. I have an awful lot of "mammon." Not much actual "money," mind you, but lots of "possessions." And I take a lot of pride in those possessions.

For example, I have this record collection. I'm no Dr. Demento, but I have a few records. Oh, yeah. For those of you born after, say, 1985, "records" are large, vinyl, discs that spin around on a "turntable" and play "music." For those of you born after 1990 or so, "music" is melodic, harmonious sounds organized into a pleasing result. Therefore, "rap" does not equal "music." Oh. Sorry, I'm meddling again.

Anyway...the record collection. Beatles' White Album, several other Beatles' albums, some Pink Floyd, Jethro Tull, Emerson, Lake and Palmer, tons of "classical" music, and stuff that I occasionally pick up at Half-Price Books and Records.

Do I ever play these records?? Heck, no. I could, because I have a turntable. That works.

I also have a large cd collection. Large, meaning it's encroaching on the 400 number. I do listen to those, but never at home. Usually only in the car or at work.

Lots of books. I've even read some of them (see my profile--the list is now over 1000).

Back to my point. Where is my treasure? Is my treasure packed on shelves in our house? Or is my treasure "in heaven?" Wherever my treasure is, there will my heart be, also.

Am I serving God or "stuff?" I haven't managed to flesh that out, yet.

May God help me.

TTFN

0 comments so far

last ~ next

Missed anything?
The Beatles--Abbey Road/Alice Cooper--Killer - July 04, 2012
The Beatles Eponymous Album - June 26, 2012
Autism's False Prophets - February 12, 2011
Santana--Guitar God? - November 11, 2010
Tribute To the Red Sox - September 29, 2010