index
archives
profile
rings
booklist
reviews
about
links
notes
email
View my guestbook
dland
RP Designs
Rachelskirts


free hit counter

The Holmes-Dracula File (2004-09-19 - 7:14 a.m.)

I read a good book last week. It was an old paperback that one of my managers at work lent me, called The Holmes-Dracula File, written by Fred Saberhagen.

This manager and I share a liking for some Science Fiction/Fantasy, and he introduced me to Saberhagen a while back. I have read a couple of the Dracula books that he wrote, but have not yet read the book that he wrote from the movie, "Bram Stoker's Dracula." In fact, I haven't even seen that book anywhere.

Anyway, The Holmes-Dracula File is extremely enjoyable and clever. It takes two literary giants and merges them together in one story.

It's probably half-way through the book before the two even meet each other, and what a shock when they do. It seems that they resemble each other quite a bit. So much so, that when a poor servant girl who was rescued by Dracula (yet scared quite witless) saw Holmes, she shrieked and ran away, much to the confusion of Holmes.

I've actually not read any Sherlock Holmes. *gasp* Yes I know it's hard to believe, but I just haven't gotten around to them yet. Someday, I will. However, I believe that I can tell from this book that I would enjoy them. I feel pretty certain that Saberhagen tried to stay true to the style of both Conan Doyle and Stoker when he wrote this book.

I highly recommend it for fans of either character, or simply fans of the genre. You might try your local Half-Price Books store. I have found quite a few Fred Saberhagen paperbacks there.

I won't reveal how it ends, but I'll tell you that there is a quite humorous development toward the end, and Dracula actually winds up helping Holmes solve the case at hand, in spite of the latter's initial belief that Dracula is a monster needing to be dispatched.

I started to say "killed." But you can't really "kill" a vampire, now, can you?


The next entry will include pieces of an editorial in our local paper from Saturday's edition (September 18th). It states so adequately what I truly believe about our "two party" political nightmare.

TTFN, y'all!

0 comments so far

last ~ next

Missed anything?
The Beatles--Abbey Road/Alice Cooper--Killer - July 04, 2012
The Beatles Eponymous Album - June 26, 2012
Autism's False Prophets - February 12, 2011
Santana--Guitar God? - November 11, 2010
Tribute To the Red Sox - September 29, 2010