index
archives
profile
rings
booklist
reviews
about
links
notes
email
View my guestbook
dland
RP Designs
Rachelskirts


free hit counter

Imogen Heap (2006-11-26 - 7:47 a.m.)

I seem to keep putting off the entry about the Dennis Jernigan concert last Saturday night, but I need to write about the experience I had this past Friday night.

I had a remarkable opportunity to see someone whom I had never heard of until just a few months ago.

I carry cds and an mp3 player to work with me all the time, and I listen to a wide variety of music, various genres which include electronic pop. One of my current favorite groups is Ladytron.

Well, my friend at work told me that he thought I would like Imogen Heap. I checked her out on my Yahoo! Juke Box, and, sure enough, I liked her.

Then I found out that she was going to be in concert the day after Thanksgiving. So I asked my friend if he wanted to go, and he said sure. He had another friend who likes her, so I got three tickets and we went to McFarland Auditorium on the SMU campus in Dallas to see her.

It was one of the most unique and entertaining concerts I have ever seen.

Her "warm up" acts were two of her back-up musicians, one of which is a local named Levi Weaver. He was fabulous on his own! I'm trying to locate some of his music (we went out a side door, so I forgot to buy his cd on the way out).

But Imogen was awesome! She uses all kinds of electronic equipment, controlled by various keyboards, one of which is a hollowed out grand piano with a clear plexiglass (I assume) outer shell. The part that wasn't clear was white, and it was filled with roses and rose petals. It also had lights all around it, similar to Christmas lights.

She also has a sampling device that takes her vocals and splits them into whatever chord she plays on the keys. Being a musician myself, I should know the name of this device, but I don't. Oh, well. It was tremendous fun. If you have the Yahoo Juke Box, search for Imogen and listen to a song called "Hide and Seek." That was the first song in her encore, and the one that most people were calling out for.

If I had any complaint at all, it was that she was too busy at times. She hardly ever faced us to sing, and the few times that she had a chance to come out to the front of the stage to sing and dance around a bit, it only lasted a few seconds before she had to run back over to her corner to turn a knob or push a button.

Nevertheless, it was, like I said, the most unique and entertaining show I have ever seen, and that in spite of various equipment failures (are there any rumors of McFarland being haunted...there sure were some electronic problems that night!).

It was time and money well spent (tickets were only $25...as opposed to an upcoming show with Dennis Miller and David Spade at the Majestic where tickets range from $75 to $225!!! C'mon guys!!).


This part is about baseball, but it's not very long.

It seems that the Astros have signed short-time Ranger Carlos Lee for a 6 year $100,000,000 contract.

The Astros are insane. They obviously did not watch Lee's inane, bumbling performance in left field for the Rangers toward the end of this last season.

The man cannot play a position. He is flat incapable. Sure he can hit. But the Astros are National League, so Lee will have to play the field somewhere. I wish them luck with him. He's a bumbling idiot.

Now he's a $100,000,000 bumbling idiot.

Viva la free agency and capitalism.

TTFN, y'all

0 comments so far

last ~ next

Missed anything?
The Beatles--Abbey Road/Alice Cooper--Killer - July 04, 2012
The Beatles Eponymous Album - June 26, 2012
Autism's False Prophets - February 12, 2011
Santana--Guitar God? - November 11, 2010
Tribute To the Red Sox - September 29, 2010